Men's Under 21s
Men's Under 21s

First U21s squad of the season contains a host of world champions

Thursday 24 Aug 2017
Lewis Cook captained England to FIFA U20s World Cup glory in June

Thirteen World Cup winners have been included in the first England Under-21s squad of the season.

The gold-medal grabbing group, which include Lewis Cook, Dominic Solanke, Freddie Woodman and Kyle Walker-Peters, helped steer the U20s to glory in South Korea in the summer.

England v Latvia
  • UEFA U21 Championship qualifier
  • 7.45pm, Tuesday 5 September 2017
  • Vitality Stadium, AFC Bournemouth
And they have now made the step up to Aidy Boothroyd’s squad for the opening two UEFA U21 European qualifiers against the Netherlands and Latvia.

Tammy Abraham, Ben Chilwell, Demarai Gray and Mason Holgate were all involved last year as the Young Lions reached the semi-finals in Poland.

England take on the Netherlands in Doetinchem on Friday 1 September before hosting Latvia at Bournemouth’s Vitality Stadium four days later.

Tickets for the Latvia match are on sale now, priced £10 for adults and £5 for concessions.


Tammy Abraham (Swansea City, on loan from Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth), Tom Davies (Everton), Kieran Dowell (Nottingham Forest, on loan from Everton), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Joseph Gomez (Liverpool), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Angus Gunn (Norwich City, on loan from Manchester City), Dean Henderson (Shrewsbury Town, on loan from Manchester United), Mason Holgate (Everton), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Crystal Palace, on loan from Chelsea), Ademola Lookman (Everton), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Josh Onomah (Aston Villa, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Kasey Palmer (Huddersfield Town, on loan from Chelsea), Dominic Solanke (Liverpool), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United), Joseph Worrall (Nottingham Forest).

By FA Staff