England U18s squad named for Poland double-header

Wednesday 05 Nov 2014
The England U18s squad has been named for Poland trip
England U18s head coach Neil Dewsnip has named an 18-man squad for next week’s double-header with Poland.

The Young Lions boss has called-up Charlton Athletic striker Karl Ahearne-Grant for his first international action since appearing for the U17s last season in February’s Algarve Tournament.

The forward has enjoyed a memorable start to the campaign for the Addicks, penning his first professional contract and making his senior debut for the Championship side.

Poland v England

U18 Internationals

4pm, Saturday 15 November
Gdynia City Stadium

4pm, Monday 17 November
Stadion MOSiR

Jordan Rossiter, who scored for Liverpool in the League Cup on his senior debut in September, is also included by Dewsnip.

England will travel to the Polish city of Gdansk to face the White Eagles, with the first game taking place at Gdynia City Stadium next Saturday. Two days later the sides will meet again at Stadion MOSiR.

The U18s kicked-off their 2014-15 campaign in September with 4-1 and 3-1 victories over Holland before losing 2-0 away to Italy last time out.

Following the last meet-up in Caorle, northern Italy, Dewsnip outlined his plans for the remainder of the campaign.

"Part of what we are trying to do with the U18s programme is look at new players. It’s low-risk in the sense that it’s a non-competitive year, and therefore we can do that," he told TheFA.com.

Neil Dewsnip

England U18 head coach Neil Dewsnip

"What we know is that through our experiences there are late developers that come and play in the national team eventually. So this is an opportunity to look at some players."

The England squad that will travel to Poland in full is:

Sam Howes (West Ham United), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United).

Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Callum Connolly (Everton), Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea), Taylor Moore (RC Lens), Tosin Adarabioyo (Manchester City).

Ryan Ledson (Everton), Jordan Rossiter (Liverpool), Lewis Cook (Leeds United), Josh Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Callum Cooke (Middlesbrough), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur).

Dominic Solanke (Chelsea), Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United), Josh Sims (Southampton), Sheyi Ojo (Liverpool), Karl Ahearne-Grant (Charlton Athletic)

* Marcus Rashford (Manchester United) replaces Callum Cooke

** Max Lowe (Derby County) replaces Jonjoe Kenny

*** Liam Walsh (Everton) replaces Jordan Rossiter

**** Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal) replaces Lewis Cook

By Gary Stonehouse Staff Writer