England senior men's squad named for October games with Wales, Belgium and Denmark

Thursday 01 Oct 2020
The Three Lions squad will be back together for October's triple header

England manager Gareth Southgate has named a squad of 30 players for October's games against Wales, Belgium and Denmark.

The Three Lions are back in action following last month's UEFA Nations League openers against Iceland and Denmark, with a triple-header of games as opposed to the usual two matches in an international window.

And Southgate has opted for a larger than usual squad to help cope with the extra game, with first senior call-ups for Everton striker Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Arsenal defender Bukayo Saka and Leicester City midfielder Harvey Barnes.

There's also a return to the squad for defenders Ben Chilwell and Harry Maguire and midfielder Jordan Henderson, who missed last month's games.


All three matches will be at Wembley Stadium, where England will be looking to take home advantage when they welcome neighbours Wales first on Thursday 8 October before the Nations League campaign resumes on Sunday 11 October with the visit of Belgium.

The week will be rounded off with the return fixture against Denmark on Wednesday 14 October, following on from the draw in Copenhagen last month.

England squad to face Wales, Belgium and Denmark:

Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Harvey Barnes (Leicester City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa) Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Danny Ings (Southampton), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City),  James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)


By Nicholas Veevers