Youth Teams
Youth Teams

England U18s squad named for Limoges Tournament in France

Thursday 30 Aug 2018
Thirteen of the squad reached the semi-finals of the U17 Euros in the summer

Neil Dewsnip has named his England Men’s U18 squad for the Limoges Tournament next month.

The Young Lions will take on the Netherlands on Wednesday 5 September, Russia on Friday 7 September and host nation France on Sunday 9 September.

Thirteen of the 21-man group helped England reach the semi-finals of the European Championship last season, where they lost to the Dutch on penalties.

Dewsnip said: “As it’s the first camp of the new season, this tournament gives me a great chance to get to know this group of players and for them to get to know a new group of staff.

Limoges schedule
  • v Netherlands, Weds 5 Sep
  • v Russia, Fri 7 Sep
  • v France, Sun 9 Sep
“We’ve selected many of last year’s U17s Euros squad, along with some additional players, to repay them for all of their work last year.

“We have a variety of experience in this group and we’ll work with them throughout the season to develop them as individuals, work on our playing philosophies and our cultural beliefs as a group.

“The tournament gives us three games in a short period of time against some really tough opposition.

“We start against Netherlands, who knocked us out in the Euros semi-finals, so I know the players will want to redress that balance.

“I see this tournament as a starting point for the team as we work towards their U19 and European Championship year, and hopefully it will culminate in an U20 World Cup opportunity in 2021.”

After Limoges, England will entertain Sweden and Czech Republic in invite-only matches at St. George’s Park.

Squad for Limoges Tournament:

Ajibola-Joshua Alese (West Ham United), Xavier Amaechi (Arsenal), Faustino Anjorin (Chelsea), Arvin Appiah (Nottingham Forest), Luca Ashby-Hammond (Fulham), Folarin Balogun (Arsenal), Dylan Crowe (Ipswich Town), Vontae Daley-Campbell (Arsenal), Marcus Dewhurst (Sheffield United), James Garner (Manchester United), Anthony Gordon (Everton), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Tyreece John-Jules (Arsenal), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), Ethan Laird (Manchester United), Bali Mumba (Sunderland), Nathanael Ogbeta (Manchester City), Arthur Okonkwo (Arsenal), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Keyendrah Simmonds (Manchester City), Rayhaan Tulloch (West Bromwich Albion).

By FA Staff