Our inclusion advisory board welcomes new members in Chris Paouros and Nuala Walsh

Thursday 30 Nov 2017
The line-up for the FA's Inclusion Advisory Board has been updated

Chris Paouros and Nuala Walsh have joined our Inclusion Advisory Board [IAB].

The appointments follow new terms of reference for the IAB, which were approved by The FA Board in May 2017 and see a change in its structure to comprise a Chair and six members.

Paouros is a consultant specialising in setting up, growing and running new organisations. She has been involved in grassroots football for 20 years, running a club operating within the women’s pyramid and is a co-founder of Proud Lilywhites, the official Tottenham Hotspur LGBT+ Supporters' Association, and Pride in Football, the alliance of LGBT+ fan groups in the UK.

Walsh is a board member of UN Women (UK) and, most recently, chief marketing officer at Standard Life Aberdeen. She has been named among ‘The 100 Most Influential Women in Finance’, has led brand and culture transformations in major global organisations and is a member of the Chartered Institute of Securities & Investments' ethics committee.

Membership of the IAB is reviewed every two years and, after originally joining in 2013, Graeme Le Saux, Colin Chaytors, Peter Clayton and Rishi Jain have left following the completion of two terms.

Paul Elliott, IAB Chair, said: “I'm delighted to welcome Chris and Nuala to the Inclusion Advisory Board. Together, they bring a new skill set and fresh perspective to an already capable collective of people. I've no doubt they will make a positive contribution.

“I would also like to put on record my gratitude to Graeme, Colin, Peter and Rishi for their service to the group and wish them the very best for the future.”

Paouros said: “I am extremely proud to be offered a position on the Inclusion Advisory Board. Whilst some progress has been made in recent years, I am looking forward to the challenge of achieving equality and inclusion across the game.”

Walsh said: “I am delighted to be joining The FA's Inclusion Advisory Board, which will play a key role in driving change across football through the management of culture, reduction of bias and respect for difference.”

Iffy Onuora and Danielle Carter will also attend IAB meetings having recently been appointed as representatives of BAME Football Communities on The FA Council.

Following Chris and Nuala’s appointments, the IAB now comprises:- 

• Paul Elliott – Chair
• Chris Ramsey
• Chris Paouros
• Hannah Dingley
• Nuala Walsh
• Rimla Akhtar
• Shelley Alexander

By FA Staff