Gamers named for inaugural Emirates FA Cup tournament

Monday 25 Apr 2016
64 gamers will represent the clubs who featured in The Emirates FA Cup third round
The FA has today announced the names of the 64 lucky gamers who have been randomly selected to take part in the inaugural Emirates FA Cup gaming tournament. 

Following almost 9,000 competition entries, the lucky gamers will have the chance to represent their club and compete for glory at Wembley Stadium connect by EE. 

Gamers of varying abilities will descend upon Wembley, as the home of football transforms into an epic gaming colosseum on Saturday 7 May. 

The Emirates FA Cup

Gaming Tournament
Saturday 7 May 2016
Wembley Stadium connected by EE

Early rounds will be played in iconic locations in the stadium such as the changing rooms and players' tunnel, with the two eventual finalists set to play the virtual final using Wembley's 82 foot screens as they sit in the centre circle. 

The FA gaming event, will be compered by sports presenter Colin Murray who will be hosting the draw of each round throughout the course of the day as the tournament progresses. 

Popular ex-player, pundit and gaming fan Jermaine Jenas will also be in attendance to support the participants in their gaming adventure. 

Murray and Jenas will also be joined by a number of professional gamers and YouTube stars in welcoming the 64 gaming participants and sharing tips and tricks on the day, including the likes of; AJ3, Behzinga, CapgunTom, Theo Baker, MattHD, Miniminter and Reev. 

The overall winner will secure the prestige of being the inaugural champion and will also bag themselves four tickets to The Emirates FA Cup Final on 21 May. 

Lucy Roberts-Hartley, The Emirates FA Cup Marketing Manager said: "We’re excited to give super fans and gamers the chance to play out their very own adventure and compete for the chance to lift The Emirates FA Cup on behalf of their club at Wembley Stadium. 

"We’re expecting amateurs to face elite gamers, just as The Emirates FA Cup pits many David and Goliath fixtures. Many adventures have culminated at Wembley Stadium, but this gaming tournament will bring the spirit of The Emirates FA Cup to a new audience, whilst retaining its magic and unique history."

The one-day event will begin by replicating the fixtures from this year’s third round with 64 gamers and 32 matches kicking-off the proceedings. Once the third round matches have been completed, the winners will go into a draw for the fourth round and the day will progress from there. 

Full list of competing gamers and clubs
AFC Bournemouth - Dave Partner
Arsenal - Trisha Barrett
Aston Villa - Becki Gates
Birmingham City - Ciaran Dunseith
Blackburn Rovers - Luke Sims
Bolton Wanderers - Peter McGowan
Bradford City - Haseeb Aurangzeb
Brentford - James Glassup
Brighton & Hove Albion - Josh Wood
Bristol City - Grant Munday
Burnley - John Hamer
Bury - Jordan Mitchell
Cardiff City - Samuel Sutton
Carlisle United - Paul McLaughlin
Charlton Athletic - Hamza Coowar
Chelsea - Stacey Flowers
Colchester United - Matthew Clark
Crystal Palace - Thomas Appleby
Dagenham & Redbridge - Simeon Sargeant
Derby County - Isaac Burnett
Doncaster Rovers - Daniel Brown
Eastleigh - Harris Riaz
Everton - Ashton Brown
Exeter City - Callum Stack
Fulham - William Jex
Hartlepool United - Maciej Czamarczan
Huddersfield Town - David Laing
Hull City - George Boyes
Ipswich Town - Nino Desmond-Hurst
Leeds United AFC - Ryan Woollard
Leicester City - Scott Davies
Liverpool - Billy Old
Manchester City - James Todd
Manchester United - Alfie Hoy
Middlesbrough - Lucy Gutteridge
Milton Keynes Dons - Aaron Crofts
Newcastle United - Conor Flynn O'Gorman
Newport County AFC - James Read
Northampton Town - Stein Stubbings
Norwich City - Jacob Wiseman
Nottingham Forest - Josh Argyle
Oxford United - Matthew Traher
Peterborough United - Alex Cook
Portsmouth - Aaron Jackson
Preston North End - Matthew Hurst
Queens Park Rangers - Shaan Ali
Reading - Georgia Graham
Rotherham United - Rob Lomas
Scunthorpe United - Lewis Simpson
Sheffield United - Corey Kelleher
Sheffield Wednesday - James Bushell
Shrewsbury Town - Jacob Williams
Southampton - Soufiane Kazane
Stoke City - Sam Evans
Sunderland AFC - Kieran Towning
Swansea City - Lee McManus
Tottenham Hotspur - Mehmet Ali
Walsall - Jamie Patel
Watford - Harry Fletcher
West Bromwich Albion - Jarrod Buckley
West Ham United - Devon Fields
Wolverhampton Wanderers - Joe Astley
Wycombe Wanderers - Chris Dixon
Yeovil Town - Alex Manners

By FA Staff