Mark Sampson selects England Women's squad for Montenegro

Thursday 04 Sep 2014
Birmingham City goalkeeper Rebecca Spencer
Mark Sampson has announced his squad for England Women’s final World Cup qualifier.

England face Montenegro in Petrovac on Wednesday 17 September for their final Group 6 match, having qualified for next summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in style.

The Lionesses beat Wales 4-0 last month to secure top spot and qualification to Canada 2015.

Montenegro v England

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015
Group 6 qualifier
3pm, Wednesday 17 September
Petrovac, Montenegro

Goalkeepers Becky Spencer and Rachael Laws get their first call ups to the senior set-up. 

Birmingham City’s Spencer, and Laws, from FA WSL 2 leaders Sunderland, have been involved with England youth teams, with Spencer being a key part of the England U19 squad that won the Euros in 2009.

Sampson said: “Having qualified for next summer’s World Cup gives us the opportunity to work with some different players and try some new things for this camp, such as working with other goalkeepers.

“However, we want to finish this qualifying campaign just as we’ve played throughout, with a strong attacking performance and hopefully, another win.  

“All of our matches now, such as this and our upcoming match at Wembley against Germany, are a really important part of our preparation for Canada.”

England’s next home match is on Sunday 23 November when they take on Germany at Wembley – the first time the England Women's team will play at the new stadium.

'Early bird' tickets are now on sale priced from £10 for adults and £1 for children. From Wednesday 1 October, adult tickets will be priced at £15.

Tickets are available via or by calling 0844 826 2010.

England take on Montenegro in Petrovac on Wednesday 17 September (3pm BST). Follow the game via Twitter from @England.

England Women's squad

Goalkeepers: Rachael Laws (Sunderland), Becky Spencer (Birmingham City), Carly Telford (Notts County)

Defenders: Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Alex Greenwood (Everton), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Claire Rafferty (Chelsea), Jemma Rose (Bristol Academy), Alex Scott (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Fran Kirby (Reading), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Jo Potter (Birmingham City), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool)

Forwards: Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Jess Clarke (Notts County), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers), Jodie Taylor (Washington Spirit).

By FA Staff