John Peacock names squad for Young Lions' Euro defence

Wednesday 08 Oct 2014
John Peacock guided England to Euro glory in May
John Peacock has named an 18-man squad as he prepares to guide England U17s to European Championship glory for a second successive year.

His Young Lions travel to Cyprus for their first round Euro qualifiers on Wednesday 22 October to face the host nation, Macedonia and France over a nine day period.

The squad will meet at St. George’s Park to begin their preparations a week on Sunday before they depart to the Mediterranean island.

U19s' Euros schedule

Saturday 25 Oct Cyprus v England, Kouklia Community Stadium, Paphos, 1pm BST

Monday 27 Oct England v Macedonia, Paphiakos Stadium, Paphos, 1pm GMT

Thursday 30 Oct England v France, Paphiakos Stadium, Paphos GMT

Fifteen of the party featured for the U17s during August’s St. George’s Park International tournament, where England finished runners-up to Czech Republic. 

They did finish on a high though, defeating Italy 4-3 in their final game thanks to strikes from Nathan Holland, Jahmal Hector-Ingram and a brace from Kaylen Hinds – and all three will be involved again this time.

Following his brace against Azzurrinni, Arsenal forward Hinds told "I want to win the Euros just like last year’s U17s so I hope I’m involved in the qualifiers in October.

"There’s also a chance of a World Cup, which would be a dream to play in, so we all want to do well."

West Ham United defender Reece Oxford and Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Marcus Edwards, who won their first U17 caps at the Nordic Tournament in July, are also included.

The England squad is

Aston Oxborough (Norwich City), Paul Woolston (Newcastle United)

Jay DaSilva (Chelsea), Cameron Humphreys (Manchester City), Danny Collinge (VFB Stuttgart), Reece Oxford (West Ham United), James John Yates (Everton), Hayden Coulson (Middlesbrough)

Adam Phillips (Liverpool), Tom Davies (Everton), Jacob Maddox (Chelsea), Marcus Edwards (Tottenham Hotspur), William Patching (Manchester City), Christopher Willock (Arsenal), Nathan Holland (Everton)

Kaylen Hinds (Arsenal), Layton Ndukwu (Leicester City), Jahmal Hector-Ingram (West Ham United)

*    Herbie Kane (Liverpool) replaces Adam Phillips
**   Lukas Nmecha (Manchester City) replaces Jahmal Hector-Ingram
*** Charlie Wakefield (Chelsea) replaces Kaylen Hinds

By Gary Stonehouse Staff Writer