Hurst hat-trick helps England become World Champions

Wednesday 30 Jul 2014
Bobby Moore kisses the Jules Rimet trophy after England win the World Cup

48 years on from England's triumph in the World Cup Final at Wembley, we look back at the 4-2 victory over West Germany...

Relying on the team which had seen them through the previous two rounds, Alf Ramsey's England won a great match 4-2 after extra-time against West Germany. 

The Germans had looked the more dangerous in the opening minutes, Haller and Held leading menacing sorties and Seeler, their captain, using his head to good advantage. 

England 4-2 West Germany

(After extra time)
FIFA World Cup Final
3pm, Saturday 30 July 1966
Wembley Stadium

It came as no surprise when Haller shot West Germany into a 12th-minute lead following Wilson's misdirected header. He thought scoring the opening goal entitled him to keep the match ball - that was the custom in German football. 

England, behind for the first time in the tournament, equalised six minutes later. Hurst positioned himself perfectly to head home Moore's quickly-taken free-kick. 

The German defence gave little away in the second period and only 12 minutes remained when Peters scored after Hurst's centre had struck a defender and looped invitingly into the air. From that range Peters could hardly miss. 

As England hung on for the final whistle, Jack Charlton was adjudged, harshly, to have fouled on the edge of the box. 

The free-kick, blasted at the wall by Emmerich, appeared to strike Schnellinger's hand before rolling on for Weber to shoot, almost in slow motion, past Banks' desperate lunge. 

England looked fitter and fresher in extra time, continuing to play with confidence and composure. 

Hurst scored with a drive on the turn which hit the underside of the bar and bounced over the line with Tilkowski beaten. The goal was disputed by the Germans - and still is. 

Watch the 1966 World Cup highlights via British Pathe


The Swiss referee asked the nearer linesman, Mr. Bakhramov from the USSR (he actually came from what is now Azerbaijan), and between them they agreed that it was a goal. 

With the last kick of the match Hurst completed a personal triumph by scoring with a firm left-footer. 

There were some people on the pitch. Geoff, now Sir Geoff, remains the only player to have notched a hat-trick in a World Cup Final. 

A day to remember - especially today. 

1 Gordon Banks 2 George Cohen 3 Ray Wilson 4 Nobby Stiles 5 Jack Charlton 6 Bobby Moore 7 Alan Ball 9 Bobby Charlton 10 Geoff Hurst 16 Martin Peters 21 Roger Hunt
Substitutes 8 Jimmy Greaves 11 John Connelly 12 Ronald Springett 13 Peter Bonetti 14 Jimmy Armfield 15 Gary Byrne 17 Ronald Flowers 18 Norman Hunter 19 Terence Paine 20 Ian Callaghan 22 George Eastham 

Goals Hurst 18, 101, 120; Peters 78

West Germany 1 Hans Tilkowski 2 Horst Hoettges 3 Karl-Heinz Schnellinger 4 Franz Beckenbauer 5 Willi Schulz 6 Wolfgang Weber 8 Helmut Haller 9 Uwe Seeler 10 Siegfried Held 11 Lothar Emmerich 12 Wolfgang Overath
Substitutes 7 Albert Bruells 13 Heinz Hornig 14 Friedel Lutz 15 Bernd Patze 16 Max Lorenz 17 Wolfgang Paul 18 Klaus Sieloff 19 Werner Kraemer 20 Juergen Grabowski 21 Gunter Bernard 22 Sepp Maier 

Goals  Haller 12; Weber 90

Referee Gottfried Dienst 
Assistant Referees Tofik Bakhramov and Karol Galba
Attendance 96,924

By FA Staff