Youth Teams
Youth Teams

New-look first round draws made for UEFA European Women's U17 and U19 Championships

Thursday 11 Mar 2021
The draws for both the U17 and U19 tournaments were made on Thursday

The draws for first round of the new Nations League-style UEFA European Women's U17 and U19 Championships have now been made.

With both the 2019-20 and 2020-21 editions being halted due to the COVID-19 pandemic, excitement is now building ahead of both tournaments and the draws for Round One have been made by UEFA.

UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship

Still featuring one-venue mini-tournaments, the U17 Championship will utilise a new format including two leagues, with promotion and relegation leading to the eight-team 2022 finals in Bosnia & Herzegovina, who will compete in the two rounds before automatically progressing to the final tournament. 

Round 1 draw details can be viewed in full here:

League A

Group A1: Norway, Republic of Ireland, Hungary, Bulgaria
Group A2: Netherlands, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Scotland
Group A3: Italy, France, Sweden, Wales
Group A4: Germany (holders), Finland, Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina (finals hosts)
Group A5: England, Poland, Belgium, Russia
Group A6: Denmark, Austria, Switzerland, Greece
Group A7: Spain, Serbia, Iceland, Northern Ireland


Group B1: Belarus, Georgia, Kosovo, Luxembourg
Group B2: Lithuania, Croatia, Armenia, Kazakhstan
Group B3: Ukraine, Estonia, Moldova, North Macedonia
Group B4: Slovakia, Israel, Faroe Islands
Group B5: Turkey, Romania, Latvia
Group B6: Azerbaijan, Montenegro, Albania

Group dates/hosts tbc: matches between 1 August and 14 November

England were involved in both draws at UEFA's HQ in Nyon on Thursday

UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship

Following the same format as the U17 Championship, the UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship will also include two leagues, with promotion and relegation leading to the 2022 finals in Czech Republic.

Next season's tournament features a record number of nations involved, with 52 teams competing across the two leagues and 13 groups.

Please see the Round 1 draw details below:-

League A

Group A1: Netherlands, Scotland, Austria, Ukraine
Group A2: France (holders), Sweden, Iceland, Serbia
Group A3: Germany, Belgium, Russia, Slovenia
Group A4: Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Turkey
Group A5: Switzerland, England, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland
Group A6: Spain, Czech Republic (finals hosts), Portugal, Slovakia
Group A7: Norway, Italy, Poland, Azerbaijan

League B

Group B1: Belarus, Faroe Islands, North Macedonia, Cyprus
Group B2: Greece, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Kazakhstan
Group B3: Wales, Albania, Moldova, Andorra
Group B4: Israel, Romania, Georgia, Malta
Group B5: Croatia, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein
Group B6: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Estonia, Armenia

Group dates/hosts tbc: matches between 14 and 21 September or 19 and 26 October.

By FA Staff