The Emirates FA Cup third round proper draw was made on Monday evening

Monday 06 Dec 2021

The draw for the Emirates FA Cup third round proper was made on Monday evening, as Premier League and EFL Championship clubs join the competition.

Following the weekend's second round ties, with three still to be decided at the time, we had 67 clubs in the hat for the draw. It was made by two Arsenal legends in the shape of nine-time Women's FA Cup winner Faye White and four-time FA Cup champion David Seaman and it didn't disappoint either.

Taking place before the final tie of the weekend between Boreham Wood and St. Albans City, who were ironically first out of the hat, before Boreham Wood went on to win the game 4-0.

Elsewhere, current holders Leicester City will have home advantage as they play fellow EPL club Watford. There's a further twist as Hornets boss Claudio Ranieri returns to the club where he won the Premier League title back in 2016, while Foxes manager Brendan Rodgers also had a spell in charge of Watford in what was his first senior club role back in 2008.

Another eye-catching tie sees new Aston Villa manager Steven Gerrard, a former FA Cup winner with Liverpool, make his competition bow as a manager with a trip to play Manchester United at Old Trafford.

There will be a couple of local derbies across the country, with south London neighbours Millwall and Crystal Palace meeting while 2013 Cup winners Wigan Athletic will welcome Blackburn Rovers from across Lancashire.

League Two's Swindon Town will welcome current Premier League leaders Manchester City to the County Ground, while there are trips to top-flight clubs for the likes of Chesterfield and Morecambe at Chelsea and Spurs respectively.

And Shrewsbury Town manager Steve Cotterill, whose Burnley team knocked out Liverpool in the third round back in 2005, will have another opportunity to plot a Cup victory over the Reds as his EFL League One side head to Anfield.


The draw

1 Boreham Wood v AFC Wimbledon
2 Yeovil Town v AFC Bournemouth
3 Stoke City v Leyton Orient
4 Swansea City v Southampton
5 Chelsea v Chesterfield
6 Liverpool v Shrewsbury Town
7 Cardiff City v Preston North End
8 Coventry City v Derby County
9 Burnley v Huddersfield Town
10 West Bromwich Albion v Brighton & Hove Albion
11 Kidderminster Harriers v Reading
12 Leicester City v Watford
13 Mansfield Town v Middlesbrough
14 Hartlepool United v Blackpool
15 Hull City v Everton
16 Bristol City v Fulham
17 Tottenham Hotspur v Morecambe
18 Millwall v Crystal Palace
19 Port Vale v Brentford
20 Swindon Town v Manchester City
21 Wigan Athletic v Blackburn Rovers
22 Luton Town v Harrogate Town
23 Birmingham City v Plymouth Argyle
24 Manchester United v Aston Villa
25 Wolverhampton Wanderers v Sheffield United
26 Newcastle United v Cambridge United
27 Barnsley v Ipswich Town or Barrow
28 Peterborough United v Bristol Rovers
29 West Ham United v Leeds United
30 Queens Park Rangers v Rotherham United
31 Charlton Athletic v Norwich City
32 Nottingham Forest v Arsenal

The third round will take place across the weekend of Friday 7 until Monday 10 January 2022, with winning clubs collecting £82,000 from the competition prize fund.

Live TV broadcast selections will be made in due course.



By Competitions department