Two teams of match officials and two VARs will represent England at UEFA EURO 2020

Wednesday 21 Apr 2021
Anthony Taylor from Manchester will be refereeing at UEFA EURO 2020 this summer

English referees Anthony Taylor and Michael Oliver along with their teams have been selected to officiate at this summer's UEFA EURO 2020 tournament.

Anthony will be joined by his assistants Gary Beswick and Adam Nunn, while Michael's team includes assistants Simon Bennett and Stuart Burt.

In addition to that, Stuart Attwell, Chris Kavanagh and Lee Betts have been selected as video match officials (VARs) in what is a strong representation at the competition for English officials.

It's also a second significant appointment for Durham-based Oliver, who was selected to referee the 2021 Emirates FA Cup earlier this week.

“The FA Referees' Committee, and I'm sure the whole of English football, will be delighted to learn that two of the 18 referees selected for the EURO finals are from England. In total, nine English officials have been selected," said David Elleray, chair of the FA Referees' Committee.

"This is the second successive EURO finals where two English referees have been selected which reflects the on-going strength of our international match officials.

"Everyone will wish them, and the England football team, every success and hope that there will be an English ‘team’ in the Wembley final.”

The UEFA Referees’ Committee appointed their 18 referees and assistant teams for the 51 matches at UEFA EURO 2020 on Wednesday evening.

Michael Oliver will be among the 18 referees at UEFA EURO 2020 this summer

The full list of referees for UEFA EURO 2020 is as follows:-

Felix Brych (Germany), Danny Makkelie (Netherlands), Cüneyt Çakır (Turkey), Antonio Miguel Mateu Lahoz (Spain), Carlos Del Cerro Grande (Spain), Michael Oliver (England), Andreas Ekberg (Sweden), Daniele Orsato (Italy), Orel Grinfeeld (Israel), Artur Manuel Ribeiro Soares Dias (Portugal), Ovidiu Alin Hategan (Romania), Daniel Siebert (Germany), Sergei Karasev (Russia), Anthony Taylor (England), Istvan Kovacs (Romania), Clément Turpin (France), Bjorn Kuipers (Netherlands), Slavko Vinčić (Slovenia).

They will also be joined by Argentian referee Fernando Rapallini and his assistants, who will join their European colleagues for the tournament as part of an exchange programme with the South American Football Confederation CONMEBOL.

Also for the first time, a female official has been selected for a men’s EURO as Stéphanie Frappart (France), who has officiated at several matches in UEFA’s men’s club and national team competitions this season, has been selected as support match official and will be acting as fourth official at matches together with other colleagues.


By FA Staff