Men's Under 21s
Men's Under 21s

England MU21s squad to face Andorra and Turkey named

Friday 02 Oct 2020
MU21s coach Aidy Boothroyd has a 23-man squad at his disposal for October's games

The England men's Under-21 squad for October’s UEFA U21 EURO Qualifiers with Andorra and Turkey has been announced.

Aidy Boothroyd has picked a 23-man squad for the double header, which starts with an early trip to Andorra on Wednesday 7 October before the Young Lions return to home soil to face Turkey at Molineux on Tuesday 13 October.

And there’s two new faces in the squad, with the head coach handing first U21 call-ups to Spurs defender Japhet Tanganga and Liverpool midfielder Curtis Jones.


Both players have featured for various Young Lions squads in recent years, with Tanganga being a regular in last season’s MU20s group and Jones featuring for the MU19s.

It was a successful month for Boothroyd’s side last month, with a 6-0 win in Kosovo followed up by a 2-1 victory over group rivals Austria.

The Young Lions racked up six goals in an impressive win over Kosovo last month

That means England are close to sealing their place at next year’s U21 EURO Finals in Hungary in Slovenia, requiring four points to securing qualification in top spot.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Brandon Austin (Tottenham Hotspur)* Josef Bursik (Stoke City FC, on loan at Doncaster Rovers), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United)

Defenders: Max Aarons (Norwich City), Ben Godfrey (Norwich City), Marc Guehi (Chelsea, on loan at Swansea), Reece James (Chelsea)^, James Justin (Leicester City), Tariq Lamptey (Brighton & Hove Albion)**, Jonathan Panzo (Dijon), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur)**,. Brandon Williams (Manchester United)***, Rhys Williams (Liverpool)***

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Josh Dasilva (Brentford), Tom Davies (Everton), Ebere Eze (Crystal Palace), Curtis Jones (Liverpool)^^, Oliver Skipp (Tottenham Hotspur, on loan at Norwich City)

Forwards: Rhian Brewster (Sheffield United)**, Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Dwight McNeil (Burnley), Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal), Reiss Nelson (Arsenal)**, Sam Surridge (AFC Bournemouth)***, Ryan Sessegnon (Tottenham Hotspur)

* Replaces Ellery Balcombe (Brentford)
^ Joined senior squad
** Withdrawn injured
*** Added to squad
^^ Withdrawn from squad


By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels