The UEFA Nations League draw takes place on Tuesday, so find out all the details

Saturday 29 Feb 2020
The UEFA Nations League returns in 2020 and 2021

The draw for the second edition of the UEFA Nations League will be held on Tuesday 3 March 2020.

Following last summer’s inaugural Nations League Finals in Portugal, which was won by the host nation following their victory over the Netherlands, the draw for the new term will ironically be held in Amsterdam.

It will see the 55 UEFA nations split into four separate leagues, based on their position in the UEFA coefficient rankings (1–16 in League A, 17–32 in League B, 33-48 in League C, 49–55 in League D).

Within each League, teams have been subdivided into four pots (for Leagues A, B and C) or two (League D), again according to the rankings.

The draw then sees teams placed in sub groups in each league, with nations from each pot picked out into those groups with games taking place between September and November 2020.

Three Lions boss Gareth Southgate with Netherlands boss Ronald Koeman at the last Nations League draw

In a slight change to the 2018-19 edition, in Leagues A-C, there are now four nations to each sub group as opposed to the three there was previously.

Teams then play each other home and away, with the four group winners of League A qualifying for the UEFA Nations League Finals in June 2021 that feature semi-finals, a third-place match and the final.

The group winners in Leagues B, C and D gain promotion and those who finish bottom of the groups in Leagues A and B will be relegated.

The leagues and pots have been set out as follows:-

League A
Pot 1: Portugal, Netherlands, England, Switzerland
Pot 2: Belgium, France, Spain, Italy
Pot 3: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden
Pot 4: Croatia, Poland, Germany, Iceland

League B
Pot 1: Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic
Pot 2: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland
Pot 3: Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland
Pot 4: Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary, Romania

League C
Pot 1: Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Georgia
Pot 2: North Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Cyprus
Pot 3: Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Luxembourg
Pot 4: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova

League D
Pot 1: Gibraltar, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein
Pot 2: Andorra, Malta, San Marino

UEFA will confirm the 162 League phase fixtures, with dates and kick-off times, as soon as possible after the draw.

The matchweeks are set out below:

Matchday 1: 3–5 September 2020
Matchday 2: 6–8 September 2020
Matchday 3: 8–10 October 2020
Matchday 4: 11–13 October 2020
Matchday 5: 12–14 November 2020
Matchday 6: 15–17 November 2020
Finals: 2, 3, 6 June 2021
Relegation play-offs: 24, 25, 28, 29 March 2022

England are back in action in March, when they host Italy and Denmark at Wembley Stadium. Tickets for both games are on sale now!

By Nicholas Veevers