Kate Tinsley to head search for new FA Chair after Stacey Cartwright's resignation

Tuesday 01 Dec 2020
The recruitment for a new FA Chair will now be led by Kate Tinsley

We can today confirm that Kate Tinsley, Independent Non-Executive Director for the FA, will lead the process to recruit a new FA Chair.

This follows Stacey Cartwright’s decision to step down from the FA Board in order to pursue other business interests.

Kate Tinsley will chair the seven-member selection panel, which now has four independent members. The panel will oversee the process to identify the candidate who has the necessary character, skills and experience to be successful in the role.

The new members to the selection panel are David Gregson, former chair of the Lawn Tennis Association and, among a number of other roles, currently an Independent Non-Executive Director on the Barclays FA Women’s Super League and FA Women’s Championship Board and Tim Score, the Independent Chair of the FA’s Audit Committee, who is also chair of the British Land Company plc and chair of the Audit Committee at Pearson plc.

Members of the selection panel are:-

• Kate Tinsley, Chair of the selection panel [Independent]
• Peter McCormick OBE, interim FA Chair
• Rupinder Bains
• David Gregson [Independent]
• Jack Pearce
• Liam Rosenior [Independent]
• Tim Score [Independent]

Kate Tinsley, chair of the selection panel and Independent Non-Executive Director for the FA, said: "It’s an honour to be asked to step forward and chair the selection panel during this important time for the organisation.

"We have a very strong and experienced selection panel in place to help identify a new Chair that will best represent the modern-day values of the FA."

The FA can also confirm that it has appointed Egon Zehnder to lead the search, which will follow the recruitment principles set out in our Football Leadership Diversity Code, with hiring based on merit from a diverse talent pool.

By FA Staff