Emirates FA Cup first round draw: Chichester City receive bye

Monday 21 Oct 2019
The first round proper is scheduled for the weekend of Saturday 9 November

Chichester City, the lowest-ranked side left in the competition, have received a bye into the second round of the Emirates FA Cup after the first round draw was made on Monday night.

The Lillywhites were the final team left in the hat and, due to the odd number of teams in the draw owing to Bury FC’s removal from the English Football League and subsequently the Emirates FA Cup, Miles Rutherford’s side will automatically progress to round two.

They will also receive the prize fund payment applicable for the first round.

Elsewhere, there are three all-League One ties as 1978 winners Ipswich Town will host Lincoln City, Doncaster Rovers will travel to AFC Wimbledon and Tranmere Rovers will entertain Wycombe Wanderers.

Portsmouth, winners in 2008, face an away trip to Harrogate Town while Sunderland, Cup victors in 1973 will welcome Gillingham to the Stadium of Light.

The draw was conducted by Karen Carney and Jermaine Beckford at the home of Maldon & Tiptree, who were drawn away to Leyton Orient.

The first round is scheduled for the weekend of Saturday 9 November with winning clubs collecting £36,000 from The FA prize fund.


1 Ipswich Town v Lincoln City
2 Oxford City v Solihull Moors
3 Crawley Town v Scunthorpe United
4 Harrogate Town v Portsmouth
5 Colchester United v Coventry City
6 Sunderland v Gillingham
7 Dulwich Hamlet v Carlisle United
8 Bolton Wanderers v Plymouth Argyle
9 York City v Altrincham
10 Wrexham v Rochdale
11 Maidstone United v Torquay United
12 Leyton Orient v Maldon & Tiptree
13 Chippenham Town v Northampton Town
14 Haringey Borough or Yeovil Town v Hartlepool United
15 Cambridge United v Exeter City
16 Stourbridge v Eastleigh
17 Salford City v Burton Albion
18 Forest Green Rovers v Billericay Town
19 Bristol Rovers v Bromley
20 Ebbsfleet United v Notts County
21 Walsall v Darlington
22 Nantwich Town v AFC Fylde
23 AFC Wimbledon v Doncaster Rovers
24 Hayes & Yeading v Oxford United
25 Shrewsbury Town v Bradford City
26 Grimsby Town v Newport County
27 Gateshead v Oldham Athletic
28 Mansfield Town v Chorley
29 Dover Athletic v Southend United
30 Tranmere Rovers v Wycombe Wanderers
31 Carshalton Athletic v Boston United
32 Cheltenham Town v Swindon Town
33 Accrington Stanley v Crewe Alexandra
34 Barnet v Fleetwood Town
35 Macclesfield Town v Kingstonian
36 Maidenhead United v Rotherham United
37 Blackpool v Morecambe
38 MK Dons v Port Vale
39 Stevenage v Peterborough United

* Chichester City receive an automatic bye to the second round proper

By FA Staff