Men's Under 21s
Men's Under 21s

England U21s squad named by Aidy Boothroyd for this summer's Euro Finals in Italy

Monday 27 May 2019
England U21s are in action at the UEFA European U21 Championship Finals in Italy this summer

The England U21s squad has been named for this summer’s U21 EURO in Italy and San Marino.

Young Lions head coach Aidy Boothroyd has picked a 23-strong squad for the competition, which sees England face France, Romania and Croatia in their group games in June.

UEFA European U21 Championship
  • The Finals
  • 16-30 June 2019
  • Italy and San Marino
  • Live on Sky Sports

After enjoying a successful qualification campaign over the last two seasons and some eye-catching performances in their preparation games since, the squad is mainly made up of players who have all played a part in helping England into their seventh successive appearance at the U21 EURO Finals.

There is one new face in the group, with Wolverhampton Wanderers' midfielder Morgan Gibbs-White selected for the first time at U21 level, having previously featured for the U19s this term.

And there’s no shortage of experience in the squad either, with Angus Gunn, Tammy Abraham and Demarai Gray all having featured at the previous tournament in Poland two years ago, when Boothroyd’s side reached the semi-final only to suffer penalty shootout heart-ache against Germany.

The class of 2019 will be hoping to go one step further this time and with the bulk of the group having previously tasted international success with the U20s, U19s and U17s in recent seasons, England head to the Finals with confidence.

A number of the squad have already been in training at St. George’s Park since the end of their club campaigns, and more will arrive to continue preparations this week before the group head to Italy on Friday 14 June.

Aidy Boothroyd with his Euro group rival coaches ahead of the Finals

Their Euro opener is against France in Cesena on Tuesday 18 June, before they face Romania at the same venue three days later. The final group match against Croatia comes on Monday 24 June in Serravalle, San Marino, with all three games being broadcast live in the UK on Sky Sports.

If you fancy travelling to Italy to cheer on the Young Lions, tickets for the games are also available via UEFA and the local organisation.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Angus Gunn (Southampton), Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea), Jay Dasilva (Chelsea), Lloyd Kelly (AFC Bournemouth), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Ezri Konsa (Brentford), Fikayo Tomori (Derby County, loan from Chelsea), Aaron Wan-Bissaka (Crystal Palace)

Midfielders: Harvey Barnes (Leicester City), Hamza Choudhury (Leicester City), Kieran Dowell (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Morgan Gibbs-White (Wolverhampton Wanderers), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Derby County, loan from Chelsea), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Aston Villa, loan from Chelsea), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Dominic Solanke (AFC Bournemouth)

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels