Spurs beat Charlton Athletic on penalties to lift The FA Women's Premier League Cup

Sunday 07 May 2017
Spurs celebrate after goalkeeper Toni-Anne Wayne's penalty shootout heroics

Tottenham Hotspur lifted the Women’s Premier League Cup on Sunday after defeating Charlton Athletic on penalties – claiming their third trophy of the season.

The FA Women’s Premier League South champions and Ryman Cup winners had keeper Toni Anne-Wayne to thank for saving two spot-kicks in the shootout at the Lamex Stadium.

Bianca Baptiste was twice denied a winning goal for Spurs in normal time by the post, then saw an effort cannon back off the crossbar five minutes into extra time.

Charlton Athletic 0-0 Tottenham Hotspur
  • Spurs won 4-3 on penalties
  • FA Women's Premier League Cup
  • Sunday 7 May 2017
  • Lamex Stadium, Stevenage FC

But it was still to be Tottenham’s day, with Wayne keeping out penalties from Kim Dixson and Grace Coombs.

Wayne said: “When you go into penalty shootouts it is a lottery, but my goalkeeping coach did some homework for me when we went into extra time, so I had an idea of where they might go.

“We were the better team throughout, we had so many chances – there were about four cleared off the line.

“We made it hard for ourselves, but I think it was deserved.

“We worked hard for each other and the girls were fantastic.”

Charlton manager Riteesh Mishra added: “Congratulations to Spurs - winning a treble is a fine achievement at any level.

“I am positive about the future of this football club. The experience of this season will make us all better, I know that.”

Tottenham Hotspur: 1 Toni-Anne Wayne, 2 Lucia Leon, 3 Leah Rawle, 5 Sophie McLean, 7 Josie Green, 8 Bianca Baptiste, 10 Wendy Martin, 11 Jenna Schillaci (capt), 16 May Vio, 19 Renee Hector, 24 Ronnell Humes

Substitutes: 9 Nikita Whinnett for Humes 70, 14 Katie O’Leary for Rawle 90, 19 Eartha Pond for Green 100

Substitutes not used: 4 Shannon Moloney, 20 Kelley Blanchflower

Charlton Athletic: 13 Alexandra Baker, 2 Katie Flack, 4 Kim Dixson (capt), 5 Rosey Sullivan, 6 Grace Coombs, 8 Charley Clifford, 11 Avilla Bergin, 12 Nicole Pepper, 16 Kit Graham, 20 Daisy Monaghan, 22 Ruby Southgate

Substitutes: 15 Charlotte Lee for Pepper 66, 3 Stefanie Simmons for Monaghan 66

Substitutes not used: 1 Kelly Cooper, 14 Giorgia Dunne, 18 Hope Nash


By FA Staff