The FA

FA Council agree changes

England Blind legend David Clarke and ex-pro Iffy Onuora among new Council members

Friday 28 Jul 2017

This week’s FA Council meeting witnessed a number of changes in personnel, as well as a commitment for it to regularly review governance structures. 

Former Sheffield United and Huddersfield Town striker Iffy Onuora and England Blind legend David Clarke, one of the most decorated footballers in the disability game, were among eight new individuals who joined The FA Council. 

Paul Elliott CBE, who has recently taken over from Heather Rabbatts as Chair of The FA’s Inclusion Advisory Board, was buoyed by the move.

“These people will be a fantastic addition to our work,” he said.

“They were selected because they represent constituencies of the game that should have a voice in The FA’s decision-making structures and will contribute to the greater diversity of the Council membership.

“It encompasses the race and gender diversity we’re so often criticised for not having, and demonstrates a pledge for full inclusion.”

The meeting also saw a commitment from the Council to ensure The FA was reflective of society and will focus on improving all aspects of diversity at decision making levels, both locally and nationally, is fit for purpose to act as the governing body and regulatory authority, and able to continue effectively function as the driver for maximum participation in every aspect of the game at all levels by all sections of society.

The full list of new Council members:
Lauren O’Sullivan – Association of Colleges Sport
Professor Dominic Shellard – British Universities Colleges Sports
David Clarke – Disability representative
Sarah Nickless – FA Youth Council
Katrina Law – Supporters’ representative
David Morrall – National League System Steps 5 & 6 representative
Sonia Kulkarni – FA Women’s Super League
Iffy Onoura – BAME Football Communities representative

Changes to Council:
Liz Verrall – Berks & Bucks County FA (replaced Richard Lipscombe)
Tom Sampson – Devon County FA (replaced Chris Davey)
Neil Cassar – Hampshire County FA (replaced John Ward)
Keith Murdoch – Leicestershire & Rutland County FA (replaced David Jamieson)
Michael Tattersall – National League (replaced Charles Clapham)
Gavin Lemmon – Norfolk County FA (replaced Shaun Turner)
Aron Sharpe – Division 9 Representative (Wingate & Finchley FC) (replaced Ivor Beeks)

By FA Staff