For the 2017-18 season 32 grassroots leagues will trial temporary dismissals

Friday 14 Jul 2017
Leagues from Step 7 and below will trial temporary dismissal for incidents of dissent

The Football Association has today announced the 32 grassroots leagues that will trial Temporary Dismissals – more commonly known as ‘sin bins’ – during the 2017-18 season. 

From Step 7 of the National League system and below 130 grassroots leagues registered an interest in the pilot scheme and a mixture of male, female, adult, youth, Saturday and Sunday leagues across the country have been chosen to take part.

The scheme was originally conceived following a decision by the International Football Association Board [IFAB] which gave National Associations the ability to implement sin bins at grassroots level. 

Whilst given discretion whether to use the scheme for all cautions, or selected cautions, The FA chose to focus on matters of dissent, which amounted to 25 per cent of all cautions during the 2016-17 season and directly supports the Respect programme.

It is anticipated that the pilot scheme will deal with misconduct on the day, result in fewer cautions for dissent overall and improve match-day experiences, not only for referees, but for all involved in the game. 

Mark Ives, FA head of judicial services, said: “I am encouraged by the level of enthusiasm from County FA’s, leagues, clubs and referees and in their collective commitment to make a difference to our great game at a local level. 

“I look forward to seeing a positive impact during the course of the season.”

The leagues below have been selected:

• Anglian Combination League   • Jersey Football Combination 
• Army Football League Massey • JJ Jones Builders Duchy League
• Birmingham & District Football League • Liverpool County FA Premier League
• Bolton, Bury & District Football League • Mid Sussex Football League
• Chester & Wirral Football League • Mid Sussex Youth & Minor Football League
• Cumberland County League • Midwest Counties Female
• Devon and Exeter Football League • North Staffs Youth League
• Dorset Premier League • Nottinghamshire Senior Football League
• Durham County Women’s • Notts. Amateur Alliance
• Evesham & District Sunday Football League • Peterborough & District Football League
• Gloucestershire County Women's League • Potteries & District Sunday League
• Gloucestershire Northern Senior League • Sevenoaks and District Football League
• Hertfordshire Senior County League • Sheffield & District Junior Sunday League
• Hitchin Sunday League • Southern Amateur League
• Surrey Primary Youth League • Trelawny League
• Taunton & District Saturday League • Warrington Sunday Football League
By FA Staff