Barclays FA Women’s Super League
Sponsored by

Five Man City players named in PFA WSL Team of the Year

Thursday 20 Apr 2017
Man City duo Steph Houghton and Lucy Bronze are in the PFA WSL Team of the Year

Manchester City have had five players named in the PFA WSL Team of the Year.

Steph Houghton, Jennifer Beattie, Lucy Bronze, Jill Scott and Jane Ross are City’s representatives after the quintet helped Nick Cushing’s side win FA WSL 1 and lift the Continental Tyres Cup in 2016.

Reading goalkeeper Mary Earps, Birmingham City youngster Jessica Carter, Arsenal midfielder Jordan Nobbs, Liverpool attacker Caroline Weir and Chelsea duo Karen Carney and Eniola Aluko complete the line-up.

The Team of the Year, voted for by WSL players, was announced ahead of the 44th PFA Awards, which are being held in London on Sunday 23 April.

Carney, Bronze, Scott, Ross and Weir are on the shortlist for Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year along with Birmingham striker Ellen White, while Carter is in line for the Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year award.

The FA WSL 1 Spring Series begins on Saturday as Bristol City entertain Reading.

Manchester City reached the SSE Women's FA Cup Final after beating Liverpool on Easter Monday.

The Final will be staged at Wembley on Saturday 13 May.

PFA WSL Team of the Year

Mary Earps (Reading), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Jennifer Beattie (Manchester City), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Jessica Carter (Birmingham City), Karen Carney (Chelsea), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Caroline Weir (Liverpool), Jane Ross (Manchester City), Eniola Aluko (Chelsea).

By FA Staff