Jordan Nobbs among the winners at annual FA Women’s Football Awards

Friday 18 Nov 2016

Jordan Nobbs was named Vauxhall England Player of the Year at the annual FA Women’s Football Awards.

Mark Sampson’s vice-captain topped the public poll ahead of Karen Carney, Steph Houghton and Jill Scott after a great year at the heart of the Lionesses’ midfield where the team secured qualification for Euro 2017.

Chelsea midfielder Millie Bright was voted Vauxhall England Young Player of the Year after another impressive season where she made her senior debut in a 2-0 victory away to Belgium in September.

The winners were announced at Friday night’s awards, held at Wembley Stadium connected by EE, which celebrated the best of international and domestic women’s football.

Manchester City capped a hugely successful 2016, where they won the league and FA WSL Continental Tyres Cup double, with a trio of awards.

England defender Lucy Bronze picked up the FA WSL 1 Players’ Player of the Year while Nick Cushing was awarded FA WSL Manager of the Year.

Manchester City won the FA WSL 1 title in 2016

Man City won FA WSL 1 without losing a game

And City were crowned FA WSL 1 Club of the Year, recognising achievements on and off the pitch.

FA WSL 2 champions Yeovil Town were named their division’s Club of the Year, with promoted Brighton & Hove Albion winning the FA Women’s Premier League equivalent.

Oxford United’s Ini-Abasi Umotong was awarded FA WSL 2 Players’ Player of the Year and Bristol City’s Claire Emslie won the fan-voted FA WSL Goal of the Season for her effort against Everton.

The awards also recognised work off the pitch, with Crawley COGS picking up the #WeCanPlay Participation Award and Jen O’Neill and She Kicks magazine given a special award for Contribution to Women’s Football in Media.

In the final award of the night, former England player and head coach Hope Powell CBE was recognised with the Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Football award.

Powell, who earned 66 international caps, led England for 15 years, steering them to the final of the Euros in 2009.

Hope Powell

Hope Powell changed the face of women's football in England

FA director of football participation and development Kelly Simmons said: “It has been another big year for women’s football with so many achievements across our international and domestic game, on and off the pitch.

“This evening was a real celebration of all the hard work undertaken by people across women’s football and to see the strides we are taking in terms of participation, attendances and the quality of the game.

“It’s crucial that we continue to build on this work in 2017 which will be a pivotal year for the women’s game, particularly with England’s involvement in the Euros and the FA WSL’s transition to a more traditional football calendar, and keep growing the game in every area.”

Nobbs added: “It’s a real honour to be named player of the year, especially as so many of my team-mates played so well this season.

“I’d like to thank everyone who voted for me and for everyone’s support for the England team this year.

“We have a massive year ahead of us and we’re determined to go to the Euros next summer in the best possible position to do well and make all of our supporters proud.”

Award winners:

Vauxhall England Women's Player of the Year
Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal)

Vauxhall England Women's Young Player of the Year
Millie Bright (Chelsea)

FA WSL Goal of the Season

Claire Emslie (Bristol City)

FA WSL Manager of the Year
Nick Cushing (Manchester City)

FA WSL 1 Players’ Player of the Year
Lucy Bronze (Manchester City)

FA WSL 1 Club of the Year
Manchester City

FA WSL 1 Top Goalscorer
Eniola Aluko (Chelsea)

FA WSL 2 Players’ Player of the Year
Ini-Abasi Umotong (Oxford United)

FA WSL 2 Club of the Year

Yeovil Town

FA WSL 2 Top Goalscorers
Jo Wilson (London Bees)
Ini-Abasi Umotong (Oxford United)

FA WPL Manager of the Year 
Lindsey Stephenson (Middlesbrough)

FA WPL Club of the Year
Brighton & Hove Albion

FA WPL Premier Division Players’ Player of the Year
Lynda Shepherd (Blackburn Rovers)

FA WPL Division One Players’ Player of the Year
Gemma Woodford (Shanklin)

FA WPL Northern Division Top Goalscorer
Emily Heckler (Huddersfield Town)

FA WPL Southern Division Top Goalscorer
Gemma Shepherd (Charlton Athletic)

FA WPL Division One Midlands Top Goalscorer
Jade Cross (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

FA WPL Division One North Top Goalscorer
Bianca Owens (Middlesbrough)

FA WPL Division One South East Top Goalscorer
Kallie Balfour (Gillingham)

FA WPL Division One South West Top Goalscorer
Katie German (Larkhall Athletic) 

#WeCanPlay Participation Award
Crawley COGS

Special Award: Contribution to Women’s Football in Media
She Kicks / Jen O’Neill

Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Football
Hope Powell CBE

By FA Staff