England Under-19s squad named for Mexico double header

Monday 16 May 2016
The Under-19s face Mexico in two games during June
Get the Kit Home Kit Display Ad 300x250

England Under-19s head coach Aidy Boothroyd has named his squad for next month’s trip to Mexico for their pre-Euro double header.

The Young Lions face their hosts in two games on 4 and 6 June at the Centro de Alto Rendimiento national training centre just outside Mexico City, as Boothroyd aims to prepare his players for July’s Euro Finals in Germany.

Mexico v England

Under-19 International Matches
 4 & 6 June 2016
Centro de Alto Rendimiento, Mexico
Matches played behind-closed-doors

And the head coach has selected a 24-man group for the games, with three new faces included as he looks to assess his options for the summer tournament.

There is a first call-up for Chelsea defender Fikayo Tomori, who previously represented Canada at U20 level, while club-mate Dominic Solanke returns to the fold after a spell with England U21s.

Charlton Athletic forward Ademola Lookman is also called-up for the first time after impressing with his performances in the Addicks first team over the last few weeks.

And there’s also a place for Reading goalkeeper Luke Southwood, who has never represented the Three Lions before but has previously been involved in England goalkeeper training camps.

The group will meet up at the end of May before making their way to Central America, where they play two games and train until 8 June.

England will face Netherlands, Croatia and France in the group stage of the Euro Finals in July, where they will aim to win the Championship as many of this group did at U17 level two years ago.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United), Sam Howes (West Ham United), Luke Southwood (Reading)

Defenders: Callum Connolly (Everton), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Rico Henry (Walsall)**, Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Tafari Moore (Arsenal), Taylor Moore (RC Lens), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Axel Tuanzebe (Manchester United)*, Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Lewis Cook (Leeds United)^, Ryan Ledson (Everton), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Reece Oxford (West Ham United)^, Jordan Rossiter (Liverpool)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United), Isaiah Brown (Chelsea), Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic), Sheyi Ojo (Liverpool), Dominic Solanke (Chelsea)

* Replaces Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea)
** Replaces Cameron Borthwick-Jackson (Manchester United),
^ Withdrawn through injury

By Nicholas Veevers