England Under-17s squad named for Euro Championship 

Wednesday 04 May 2016
England U17s' line-up against Germany

England Under-17s begin their European Championship Finals campaign in Azerbaijan this week and head coach Steve Cooper has named his squad.

Cooper has selected an 18-man group for the competition, with the Young Lions kicking-off in Group C on Friday 6 May when they face Sweden. 

They face France in their second game three days later before their final group game against Denmark on Thursday 12 May.

UEFA European U17 Championship

The Finals
5-21 May 2016
Live on Eurosport

From there, the group winners and runners-up from each of the four groups will progress to the quarter finals and onwards.

The squad contains the majority of the players who have helped England to reach the last 16, successfully coming through two qualifying rounds and playing six games without defeat.

There’s only one new face in the squad, with Everton defender Morgan Feeney earning his first England call-up for the competition.

The U17 Euro Finals has been a happy hunting ground for England in recent years, with the teams of 2010 and 2014 winning the title under John Peacock, as well as reaching the quarter final stage in Bulgaria 2015, the semi-finals in Serbia 2011, and the final in Belgium 2007.

The UEFA European U17 Championship trophy at the draw in Azerbaijan

This year's U17s squad are aiming to follow on from the groups of 2010 and 2014 by winning the Euro trophy

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Jared Thompson (Chelsea), Ryan Sandford (Millwall)

Defenders: Trevoh Chalobah (Chelsea), Edward Francis (Manchester City), Tolaji Bola (Arsenal), Dujon Sterling (Chelsea), Jaden Brown (Tottenham Hotspur), Morgan Feeney (Everton)

Midfielders: Marcus McGuane (Arsenal), Andre Dozzell (Ipswich Town), Dennis Adeniran (Fulham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)

Forwards: Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Ben Morris (Ipswich Town), Joshua Bohui (Brentford), Samuel Shashoua (Tottenham Hotspur), George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday)

The Draw

Group A: Azerbaijan (hosts), Portugal, Belgium, Scotland

Group B:
Ukraine, Germany, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina

Group C: France (holders), Denmark, England, Sweden

Group D: Italy, Serbia, Netherlands, Spain

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels