England U17s kick-off Algarve Tournament with 1-1 draw

Friday 05 Feb 2016
The England Under-17s line-up to face Portugal in the Algarve Tournament

England Under-17s began the 2016 Algarve Tournament with a 1-1 draw against hosts Portugal on Friday afternoon.

It took a second-half equaliser from Tottenham Hotspur schemer Samuel Shashoua to secure the result for Steve Cooper’s team, who are preparing for their Euro Elite Qualifying Round games in March.

Portugal U17s 1-1 England U17s

Algarve Tournament
3.30pm, Friday 5 February 2016
Estádio Municipal da Bela Vista, Parchal

They had slipped behind to an early goal from Portugal midfielder Miguel Luis, with the Sporting Lisbon player netting an eighth minute opener.

But Shashoua levelled things up seven minutes after the re-start to ensure the Young Lions made a solid start to the annual tournament in Parchal.

Cooper’s side will next be in action on Sunday afternoon when they take on Germany in their second game, kicking-off at 1.30pm.

Germany beat the Netherlands by 1-0 in their opening match of the tournament earlier on Friday.

England Under-17s: 1 Jared Thompson (Chelsea); 2 Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), 5 Edward Francis (Manchester City), 6 Tolaja Bola (Arsenal), 3 Jaden Brown (Tottenham Hotspur); 7 Jonathan Leko (West Bromwich Albion), 4 Andre Dozzell (Ipswich Town) (c), 8 Dennis Adeniran (Fulham), 18 Rahis Nabi (West Bromwich Albion ), 11 Samuel Shashoua (Tottenham Hotspur); 10 Ben Morris (Ipswich Town)

Substitutes: 14 Simranjit Thandi (Leicester City) for Tanganga 47, 9 George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday) for Morris 74, 15 Elliot Embleton (Sunderland) for Nabi 74, 12 Josh Tymon (Hull City) for Francis 80, 16 Mackenzie Heaney (Newcastle United) for Shashoua 80

Substitutes not used: 17 George Tanner (Manchester United), 19 Joshua Bohui (Brentford), 22 Adam Parkes (Southampton)

Head coach: Steve Cooper

Goals: Samuel Shashoua 46

Portugal: 12 Luis Maximiano (Sporting), 2 Diogo Dalot (POrto), Diogo Quieros (Porto), 5 Ruben Vinagre (Monaco), 6 Florentino (Benfica), 7 Leandro Tipote (Sporting), 8 Miguel Luis (Sporting), 9 Jose Gomes (Benfica), 10 Nuno Santos (Benfica), 11 Gedson Fernandes (Benfica), 13 Diogo Leite (Porto), 14 David Tavares (Sporting)

Substitutes: 1 Diogo Costa (Porto), 4 Luis Silva (Stoke City), 15 Thierry Correia (Sporting), 16 Lameira (Porto), 17 Lamba (Porto), 18 Filipe Soares (Benfica), 19 Mickael Almeida (Lyon), 20 Tincao (Braga), 22 Joao Virginia (Arsenal).

Coach: Helio Sousa

Goals: Miguel Luis 8

By FA Staff