England squad named for first 2018 World Cup qualifier

Sunday 28 Aug 2016
Michail Antonio celebrates after scoring for West Ham United

England manager Sam Allardyce has named a 23-man squad for the upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier against Slovakia.

There is a first call-up for West Ham winger Michail Antonio, while Luke Shaw returns after a year-long absence through injury. Danny Drinkwater, Theo Walcott and Phil Jagielka are also recalled.

Slovakia v England

2018 FIFA World Cup Russia
European Qualifiers (Group F)
5pm (BST), Sunday 4 September
City Arena, Trnava (Slovakia)

Speaking of Antonio's maiden selection, Allardyce said told TheFA.com: “I think he’s in outstanding form.

“This is another lad with a great journey – it’s a fantastic journey that he’s been on, from non-league to now an international call-up. He scored nine goals in his first season and he’s a terrific athlete, a good crosser and a goal-scorer.

“I’m looking forward to him coming, and looking forward to meeting everybody. Hopefully we will have a good few days’ preparation and get to know each other on the basis of trying to go and win in Slovakia.”


Allardyce discusses his squad selection in an exclusive interview with FATV


The Three Lions squad meets up at St. George's Park on Monday, ahead of facing Slovakia in Trnava on Sunday 4 September.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Torino, loan from Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Alex McCarthy (Southampton)*

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Michail Antonio (West Ham United), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Theo Walcott (Arsenal)

Strikers: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

*Replaced Fraser Forster (Southampton)

By Jim Lucas at St. George's Park