England legends inducted into Museum's Hall of Fame

Monday 06 Jun 2016
Rachel Unitt

England legends Rachel Unitt and Rachel Brown-Finnis have both been inducted into the National Football Museum’s Hall of Fame, alongside England CP ace Martin Sinclair.

The trio are part of this year’s entry to the prestigious list and will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at a celebratory dinner in October, after The FA had the honour of choosing inductees in the Female Players and Football For All categories.

And it’s fully deserved for long-serving Everton defender Unitt, who won 102 caps for the Lionesses and former Liverpool and Everton goalkeeper goalkeeper Brown-Finnis, who played in an FA Cup Final aged just 15 and went on to win 82 England caps.

Martin Sinclair in training at St Georges Park

England CPs star Martin Sinclair has been inducted to the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame

The honour roll is completed with the induction of Paralympic Great Britain and Cerebal Palsy player Martin Sinclair, whose brother is Aston Villa winger Scott Sinclair.  

"As a governing body we have made massive strides to encourage greater participation across all of football," said Kelly Simmons, The FA’s Director for Participation and Development.

"In both disability football and the womens’ game we are now seeing excellent growth.

"It is at the elite end of the game that the role models are to be found, and there are no finer examples than Martin and the two Rachels – who each have consistently demonstrated their dedication, commitment and team spirit. They are worthy inductees who we are proud to have had the honour of naming."

Two more former England stars also enter the Hall of Fame this year, with 75-cap goalkeeper David Seaman and former Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand also included.

Rachel Finnis-Brown in action for Team GB at the 2011 London Olympics

Rachel Finnis-Brown in action for Team GB at the 2011 London Olympics

They’ve been joined by Denis Irwin, Mark Lawrenson, Billy Liddell, Neville Southall, Gordon Strachan and John Robertson. 

They will be immortalised next to legends such as Sir Tom Finney, Gordon Banks, Alan Shearer and last year’s inductees Gary Neville and Norman Hunter, whose achievements are already celebrated with a place in the Hall of Fame, a focal point of the museum.

Inductees are chosen by a panel featuring some of the biggest names in football including the Museum’s President Sir Bobby Charlton, Vice President Sir Alex Ferguson and Gordon Taylor.

To qualify for nomination, players must have finished their career or be aged over 30 and have played or managed in England for at least five years. 

By FA Staff