England U20s squad named for Mercedes Cup in Germany

Wednesday 30 Sep 2015
The U20s side which faced Czech Republic in Shrewsbury last month

England Under-20s head to Germany in the Mercedes-Benz Elite Cup next week, with boss Keith Downing selecting a 23-man squad for the trip.

The Three Lions will face opposition from the Netherlands, Turkey and host nation Germany at the competition which takes place in the towns of Ulm and Heidenheim.

And after taking charge for the first time during two games against Czech Republic earlier this month, Downing has been able to select the majority of the squad who featured in a 5-0 win at St. George’s Park and the 1-0 reverse at Shrewsbury Town.

England U20s head coach Keith Downing

U20s head coach Keith Downing has been able to select a 23-man squad for the tournament in Germany

Tournament rules also allow competing nations to use players born in 1995, so Downing has elected to include six ‘over-age’ players in his squad, with keeper Joe Wildsmith, defenders Baily Cargill and Harry Toffolo, midfielders Matty Grimes and Harrison Reed and striker Sam Gallagher bolstering the ranks.

Nottingham Forest striker Tyler Walker is also included, after scoring two goals on his debut against Czech Republic following a late call-up to the squad last time.

There is also an England return for Spurs schemer Nathan Oduwa, who is currently on loan with Scottish giants Rangers. Oduwa last featured for England with the U18s in a 2-1 win over Germany in April 2014

The squad will meet up on Sunday, before travelling to their German base for the competition on Monday and they start the competition on Wednesday 7 October against the Dutch at the Arena Heidenheim.

They will then play Turkey three days later at the Donaustadion in Ulm, before they return to Heidenheim for the final match of the competition with Germany on Tuesday 13 October.

Goalkeepers Ted Smith (Southend United), Russell Griffiths (Colwyn Bay, loan from Everton), Joe Wildsmith (Sheffield Wednesday)

Defenders Ashley Smith-Brown (Manchester City), Ola Aina (Chelsea), Mason Holgate (Everton), Cole Kpekawa (Queens Park Rangers)**, Reece Burke (Bradford City, loan from West Ham), Baily Cargill (AFC Bournemouth),  Harry Toffolo (Norwich City)

Midfielders Bryn Morris (Coventry City, loan from Middlesbrough), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur), Reece Brown (Birmingham City), Harrison Reed (Southampton), Matt Grimes (Swansea City), Cameron Brannagan (Liverpool)*, Demarai Gray (Birmingham City)*, Brandon Barker (Manchester City)

Forwards Alex Gilliead (Newcastle United), Ryan Kent (Coventry City, loan from Liverpool), Nathan Oduwa (Glasgow Rangers, loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Tyler Walker (Nottingham Forest), Sam Gallagher (MK Dons, loan from Southampton)

*Withdrawn through injury
** Replacement for Ben Chilwell (Leicester City) who is withdrawn injured

Watch highlights of the U20s' double-header with Czech Republic in September


By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels