England U19s squad named for Germany and Croatia trip

Thursday 27 Aug 2015
Aidy Boothroyd is the new head coach of England U19s this season
England Under-19s boss Aidy Boothroyd has picked his first squad of the new season for the trips to Germany and Croatia next month.

The Young Lions are preparing for the First Qualifying Round of the Euro U19 Championship, which takes place in October.

And after his spell in charge of the U20s last term, Boothroyd will be taking the U19s group for this Euro campaign as they aim to build on their Euro title win as U17s in 2014.

England U19s' Euro trip

Germany v England
Friday 4 September 2015
BELKAW Arena, Bergisch Gladbach
Croatia v England
Monday 7 September 2015
Sveti Josip Radnik Stadion, Zagreb

The majority of Boothroyd’s 20-man squad were part of that group, which beat the Netherlands in Malta to be crowned as European Champions.

While most of the squad featured for Neil Dewsnip’s U18s last season, keeper Freddie Woodman, midfielder Lewis Cook, winger Patrick Roberts and forward Izzy Brown were all capped at U19 level.

Boothroyd and his squad will meet up next week before flying out to Bergisch Gladbach, where they will face Germany on Friday 4 September.

With this season’s U19 Euro Finals being held in Germany, it’s a good opportunity for England to face the host nation and a team who automatically qualify for next summer’s tournament.

From there, it is onto Zagreb where Croatia will play host to the second game of the trip at the Sveti Josip Radnik Stadion on Monday 7 September.

England have been drawn out to play Finland, Italy and group hosts FYR Macedonia in their First Qualifying Round, with those games taking place between 8 and 13 October.

Goalkeepers: Freddie Woodman (Crawley Town, loan from Newcastle United), Sam Howes (West Ham United)

Defenders: Jonjoe Kenny (Wigan Athletic, loan from Everton), Callum Connolly (Everton), Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea), Dael Fry (Middlesbrough), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur), Tafari Moore (Arsenal), Taylor Moore (RC Lens)

Midfielders: Jordan Rossiter (Liverpool), Lewis Cook (Leeds United), Josh Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Louis Reed (Sheffield United), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Ipswich Town, loan from Arsenal), Sheyi Ojo (Wolverhampton Wanderers, loan from Liverpool)

Forwards: Dominic Solanke (Vitesse Arnhem, loan from Chelsea), Patrick Roberts (Manchester City), Adam Armstrong (Coventry City, loan from Newcastle United), Isaiah Brown (Vitesse Arnhem, loan from Chelsea), Tammy Abraham (Chelsea)

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels