Get Involved

Gone but not forgotten: FA Community Awards 2015

Tuesday 04 Aug 2015
The FA Community Awards were held at Wembley on Sunday afternoon

The FA Community Awards supported by McDonald's have paid a fitting tribute to a stalwart of women’s grassroots football.

Following England’s heroic exploits at the FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada, and the day after Chelsea Ladies made history as the first Women’s FA Cup winners at Wembley, the women's game was once again centre of attention.

Glenn Weaver, who passed away in February, was posthumously honoured with the People’s Award for his outstanding contribution after a lifetime of dedication to the development of women’s football. 

Each year, thousands of incredible grassroots football volunteers are nominated for the People's Award. They are whittled down to a shortlist of eight finalists with the winner selected through a public vote.

Glenn first founded Broxbourne Ladies in 1985 and then played an integral role in growing the club which eventually became Tottenham Hotspur Ladies in 1991 and now sits proudly as a member of The FA Women’s Premier League.

Coleen Rooney and Casey Stoney presented awards

Coleen Rooney and Casey Stoney presented awards

Spurs Ladies club secretary June Clarke was on hand to collect the award at the glitzy Wembley ceremony ahead of Sunday's FA Community Shield game between Arsenal and Chelsea and said: "We are so happy to collect this award for Glenn. This is the ultimate thank-you for all the hard work he has done over the years.

"He was all about helping and being there for others and today the attention is on him. Glenn, thank you and congratulations."

The People’s Award was one of seven to be given out ahead of the game at Wembley, which marks the start of the new football season. 

The full list of winners are as follows:-

The FA Charter Standard Club: Abu Hanifah Foundation FC (Lancashire FA)
The FA Charter Standard Development Club: Ashington Cougars FC (Sussex FA)
The FA Charter Standard Community Club: Kew Park Rangers (Surrey FA)
The FA Charter Standard League: Peterborough & District FL (Hunts FA)
Young Volunteer of the Year: Kieron Broad (Somerset FA)
Volunteer of the Year Award: Kath Mason (Lancashire FA)

By FA Staff