John Peacock names his England Under-17s group

Wednesday 22 Apr 2015
The England U17 squad has been named for the Euros
Head coach John Peacock has named his England squad charged with retaining the UEFA European Under-17 Championship.

His Young Lions qualified for the showpiece in style, recording a 100 per cent record throughout their qualification to cement their spot at the tournament in Bulgaria.

2015 UEFA European U17 Championship

6-22 May 2015

The draw was made earlier this month as England were pitted against Holland, Italy and Republic of Ireland – kicking off against the Azzurrini on Tuesday 7 May.

Fifteen of the group from the Elite Round Qualifiers have kept their place for the finals, with Liverpool duo Herbie Kane and Trent Arnold earning a recall, while Arsenal’s Stephy Mavididi receives his first international call-up.

The England squad

Goalkeepers: Paul Woolston (Newcastle United), Will Huffer (Leeds United)

Defenders: Danny Collinge (Stuttgart), Reece Oxford (West Ham United), Easah Suliman (Aston Villa), James Yates (Everton), Jay DaSilva (Chelsea), Tayo Edun (Fulham)

Midfielders: Trent Arnold (Liverpool), Daniel Wright (Sunderland), Herbie Kane (Liverpool), Tom Davies (Everton), Marcus Edwards (Tottenham Hotspur), Nathan Holland (Everton), Chris Willock (Arsenal)

Forwards: Layton Ndukwu (Leicester City), Stephy Mavididi (Arsenal), Ike Ugbo (Chelsea)

"It's a tough draw. It was always possible it was going to go that way without anyone being seeded," said Peacock.

"But then you want games like this because it challenges them and it adds a bit of pressure to the players.

"That is something they are going to have to deal with if they are going to progress in their careers."

By Gary Stonehouse Staff Writer