England U19s squad named for Euro first round qualifiers

Tuesday 30 Sep 2014
England U19s started their campaign with a 1-1 draw in Germany in early September
Head coach Sean O’Driscoll has named his England U19s squad for the First Qualifying Round of the European Championship.

The Young Lions travel to Luxembourg in early October, where they will face games against Belarus, Belgium and the host nation as the campaign to reach next summer’s Euro Finals in Greece begins.

The Road To Greece

UEFA European U19 Championship
First Qualifying Round
10-15 October 2014


And it will also be O’Driscoll’s first full trip with the squad following his appointment to the role at the start of September.

The former AFC Bournemouth and Doncaster Rovers boss travelled with the U19s for their 1-1 draw against Germany earlier in September, as they warmed-up for the qualifiers with a good team performance.

And many of the players on duty for that game in Oberhausen are included in O’Driscoll’s 18-man squad for their first competitive games of the campaign.

There is a first U19s call-up for Newcastle United goalkeeper Freddie Woodman, who featured for the U18s in their victories over the Netherlands earlier this month.

He joins both Joe Gomez and Patrick Roberts in the squad, with the trio all being part of the England U17s group who became European champions earlier this year.

England begin the qualifiers against Belarus on Friday 10 October, before taking on Luxembourg two days later.

Sean O

O'Driscoll will take charge of the U19s for the first time in Luxembourg

They finish the group by facing Belgium on Wednesday 15 October, with the top two nations from the group table securing progress to the Elite Qualifying Round next spring.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Ted Smith (Southend United)*,Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United).

Defenders: Reece Burke (West Ham United)**, Ashley Smith-Brown (Manchester City), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Kean Bryan (Manchester City), Brendan Galloway (Everton), Joshua Aina (Chelsea). 

Midfielders: Bryn Morris (Middlesbrough), Charlie Colkett (Chelsea), Dele Alli (MK Dons), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Brandon Barker (Manchester City). 

Forwards: Patrick Roberts (Fulham), Isaiah Brown (Chelsea), Bradley Fewster (Middlesbrough), Demarai Gray (Birmingham City).

* Replaces Angus Gunn (Manchester City).
** Replaces Joseph Gomez (Charlton Athletic)

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels