Croatia U21s squad selected for Euro tie with England

Thursday 02 Oct 2014
The Croatian Under-21s squad has been named by boss Nenad Gracan
The Croatia Under-21 squad which will take on England in next week’s crucial Euro play-off has been named.

Boss Nenad Gracan has selected a 21-man squad for the tie, which kicks off with the first leg at Wolves’ Molineux home next Friday evening.

The second game will then take place at the Cibalia Stadium in Vinkovci on Tuesday 14 October, with the winners going on to qualify for next summer’s Euro U21 Finals in Czech Republic.

England U21s v Croatia U21s

UEFA Euro U21 Championship
Play-off first leg
5.45pm, Friday 10 October 2014
Molineux, Wolverhampton Wanderers
Live on BT Sport
Call 0871 222 1877 for tickets

Gracan, whose side finished top of a qualifying group containing Switzerland and Ukraine, has been able to keep the majority of his squad from that stage together and has also been boosted by the inclusion of players such as Ante Rebic, Tin Jedvaj and Mario Pasalic who have all had senior caps.

There are also two Chelsea players included, goalkeeper Matej Delac and midfielder Stipe Perica who are currently out on loan from the Premier League club at Arles and NAC Breda respectively.

"We are all well-motivated by the prospect of European Championships," said Gracan, 51. 

"The players are aware of the stakes. Some players have already been called-up, some are back and I hope that they will take their chance. 

"We are glad to have some players from the senior team as well, we are stronger with them.

"England is a tricky opponent, the opponent that plays aggressive football and has scored many goals in the qualifying round. We have to offer tactical quality and make the minimum number of mistakes, especially in the first leg."

Three Lions boss Gareth Southgate named his 23-man squad for the games earlier on Thursday.

Tickets are on sale for the game at Molineux now, priced at just £10 and £5 via the Wolves Ticketline on 0871 222 1877 or online here.

The squad: Matej Delac (Arles, on loan from Chelsea), Tin Jedvaj (Bayer Leverkusen), Antonio Milic (Hajduk Split), Dario Zuparic (Pescara), Niko Datkovic (Spezia), Matej Mitrovic (Rijeka), Filip Bradaric (Hajduk Split), Drazen Bagaric (Split), Domagoj Pavicic (Lokomotiva Zagreb), Marko Pjaca (Dinamo Zagreb), Mario Pasalic (Elche), Dominik Livakovic (Zagreb), Stipe Perica (NAC Breda, on loan from Chelsea), Marko Livaja (Rubin Kazan), Marko Rog (Split), Mijo Caktas (Hajduk Split), Ante ─ćoric (Dinamo Zagreb), Ante Rebic (Leipzig, on loan from Fiorentina), Petar Misic (Lokomotiva Zagreb), Karlo Brucic (Lokomotiva Zagreb), Petar Brlek (Slaven Belupo).

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels