Saido Berahino earns first England senior call-up

Thursday 06 Nov 2014
Saido Berahino earns his first call-up to the senior squad

Saido Berahino has been handed his first England senior call-up after an impressive run of scoring form.

The West Bromwich Albion striker has netted eight goals in 13 outings for the Baggies this season, as well as helping England Under-21s reach the European Championship Finals.

The 21-year-old has played for England at every level since his U16s debut in 2008 and his nine goals for Gareth Southgate's team leaves him just four short of Alan Shearer's record.

Theo Walcott

Theo Walcott returns to the England squad

Roy Hodgson calls him into his latest squad for the Three Lions' upcoming games against Slovenia and Scotland.

Hodgson has also been able to recall Arsenal forward Theo Walcott, who returned to action last weekend after missing most of this year due to injury.

Meanwhile, Manchester United's Michael Carrick and West Ham United's Stewart Downing are also back in the fold.

Carrick last featured in the Three Lions' 2-0 win over Poland at Wembley in October 2013, while Downing's most recent outing was against Norway in 2012 - Hodgson's first game in charge.

Another player returning to the squad is Ross Barkley. The Everton midfielder was part of England's squad at this summer's World Cup, but injury kept him sidelined at the start of this season.

The 20-year-old was back for the Toffees last month, so Hodgson includes him in his 26-man squad.

England meet the Slovenians at Wembley on 15 November looking to continue their perfect start to their European Qualifiers. 

Three wins from three games have put Hodgson's side in charge of their group, but Slovenia are hot on their heels in second spot.

Three days later they face Scotland at Celtic Park in a return friendly after the nations met under the Arch in August 2013.

The England Squad 

Fraser Forster (Southampton), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Nathaniel Clyne (Southampton), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United)

Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Stewart Downing (West Ham United), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion), Rickie Lambert (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Welbeck (Arsenal)

By FA Staff