Mark Sampson names England Women's squad for Montenegro

Monday 17 Mar 2014
England take on Montenegro in Brighton on Saturday 5 April

Mark Sampson has kept faith with the majority of the England Women’s squad that finished runners-up at the Cyprus Cup for the World Cup qualifier against Montenegro next month.

There is a return to the fold for Arsenal defender Casey Stoney following a foot operation as she replaces club mate Jordan Nobbs, who has been ruled out with a back complaint. Meanwhile, Birmingham City goalkeeper Mary Earps comes in for Lizzie Durack.

Karen Bardsley and Rachel Brown-Finnis are still recovering from a foot and groin injury respectively.


England v Montenegro

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015
Group 6 Qualifier
12.55pm, Saturday 5 April
Amex Stadium, Brighton & Hove Albion FC
Live on BBC Two



Sampson’s side will take on Montenegro on Saturday 5 April at Brighton & Hove Albion’s Amex Stadium in what will be his first World Cup qualifier since being appointed Head Coach in December. The match will be broadcast live on BBC Two.

England are currently in top spot in Group 6, with a 100 per cent record after four games.

Sampson said: "It is great for us to get back together so soon after our time in Cyprus which was a camp we took many positives from.

"There is a real sense of optimism within the group about the journey we have set out on. We have made a positive start, one we are keen to build on.

"The match in Brighton signifies the first competitive outing for this new England team and, as importantly, the first opportunity for our supporters to share the experience with the players.

"We are determined to engage with our supporters for the first time while continuing the early progress we have made with a brave and ambitious performance against Montenegro."

Tickets for the game are on sale now priced £5 for adults and £2.50 for children and concessions. A family ticket is available at £10 (two adults, two children).

Squad in full

Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal), Mary Earps (Birmingham City), Carly Telford (Notts County)
Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Sophie Bradley (Notts County), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Alex Greenwood (Everton), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Demi Stokes (University of South Florida), Casey Stoney (Arsenal)
Anita Asante (Malmo), Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Jade Moore (Birmingham City), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool),
Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers), Kelly Smith (Arsenal), Ellen White (Notts County).


By FA Staff