Fara Williams in line to set new England caps record

Wednesday 23 Jul 2014
Fara Williams could become the most capped England player of all time

Mark Sampson has announced his final 23-player England Women’s squad for next month’s international against Sweden.

England will host the Scandinavians at Hartlepool United’s Victoria Park stadium on Sunday 3 August (2pm kick-off).

If Fara Williams plays she will become England’s most capped player of all time, on 130 caps, ahead of Rachel Yankey. She equalled Yankey’s record in a World Cup qualifier against Ukraine in June.

England v Sweden

A Women's International
2pm, Sunday 3 August 2014
Victoria Park, Hartlepool United FC
Call 01429 272 584 for tickets

Meanwhile, Washington Spirit’s Jodie Taylor gets her first full England call-up.

The squad includes five players who hail from the North East – captain Steph Houghton, Hartlepool’s Jordan Nobbs, Lucy Bronze, Demi Stokes and Jill Scott.

Kelly Smith and Casey Stoney have been rested and Sophie Bradley is out through injury.

The match takes place ahead of England’s key World Cup qualifier against Wales at Cardiff City Stadium on Thursday 21 August. The Lionesses need just a point to qualify for the finals which take place in Canada next summer.

Sampson said: “It will be great to get the group together again for a really exciting challenge against a good Swedish team.  

“Fara is a special player as well as a fantastic ambassador for the game. To overtake the record will be an incredible achievement for her and I’m sure one that she will build on. 

“I spoke with Kelly and Casey. We decided to leave them out of this squad to allow them some extra recovery time. I am very hopeful they will be back fresh and fully fit for the Wales match.

"We are also looking forward to inviting Jodie into the group. She has been playing very well and deserves her opportunity.”

Tickets for the Sweden match are still available priced £5 for adults and £2.50 for children. A family ticket (two adults and two children) is available at £10 and group booking discounts apply.

Tickets can be purchased by calling 01429 272 584 (option 2), via TheFA.com's ticketing page or at the Hartlepool United ticket office.

Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), Rachel Brown-Finnis (Everton), Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal).

Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Alex Greenwood (Everton), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Demi Stokes (University of South Florida).

Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Jade Moore (Birmingham City), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool).

Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Jess Clarke (Notts County), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Reading), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers), Dunia Susi (Notts County), Jodie Taylor (Washington Spirit).

By FA Staff