The NLS structure and allocation of clubs

The National League System Structure

The National League System is the structure for senior men’s football that operates directly below the English Football League (EFL), League Two. It stretches from the National League at Step 1 through to the various County Leagues at Step 7.

In total 57 leagues featuring a total of 84 divisions across the country provide a feeder system through to the EFL. The National League System aims to provide clubs with a level of competition appropriate to their playing ability, stadium/ground facilities and geographical location. The National League system also provides for the seasonal movement of clubs and provides a clear pathway from Step 7 through to the EFL.

The National League System structure and the allocation of clubs to the system for the 2017-18 season can be found below: