England head coach Terry Venables named his first squad to play Denmark in March 1994

With England’s game against Denmark which was due to be played on Tuesday now postponed, we take a look back into the archives instead and take you back to March 1994, when the Three Lions hosted the Danes at Wembley in what was Terry Venables’ first game in his new role as England head coach…

Monday 30 Mar 2020
Terry Venables was appointed as England head coach on 28 January 1994

Terry Venables began his spell as England’s new head coach with a game against Denmark at Wembley Stadium on Wednesday 9 March 1994.

With the nation hosting the UEFA European Championship Finals just over two years later, and having failed to qualify for the 1994 World Cup in the USA, it was an opportunity for Venables to begin his own rebuild of the England team.

After his appointment just over a month earlier in late January, the former Crystal Palace, QPR, Spurs and Barcelona boss had chance to take in a number of games over the course of February before this match to help decide his first selection of 19 players.

Among the new faces called up for this game were Blackburn Rovers’ left-back Graeme Le Saux, Spurs midfielder Darren Anderton and Southampton’s Matt Le Tissier.

Venables was also able to call on fit-again striker Alan Shearer, who returned to the international fold after a long-term injury had kept him out of action for much of the previous season.

It was a tough start for Venables too, with Richard Moller Nielsen bringing a Danish squad with many of the players who had helped the Scandinavians lift the Euro title in Sweden in 1992.

You can watch the full match as live on Tuesday evening, presented by BT on the official England YouTube channel from 7.45pm.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Tim Flowers (Blackburn Rovers), David Seaman (Arsenal)

Defenders: Tony Adams (Arsenal), Rob Jones (Liverpool), Graeme Le Saux (Blackburn Rovers), Gary Pallister (Manchester United), Paul Parker (Manchester United), Stuart Pearce (Nottingham Forest), Des Walker (Sheffield Wednesday

Midfielders: Darren Anderton (Tottenham Hotspur), David Batty (Blackburn Rovers), Paul Gascoigne (Lazio), Paul Ince (Manchester United), David Platt (Sampdoria)

Forwards: Peter Beardsley (Newcastle United), Les Ferdinand (Queens Park Rangers), Matthew Le Tissier (Southampton), Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers), Ian Wright (Arsenal)

By Nicholas Veevers