Leagues and Competitions

Women's Leagues and Competitions

Leagues and Competitions

The FA took over the running of the women’s game in 1993 and with almost three million registered players, football is now the top participation sport for women and girls in England.

The FA is responsible for running the Barclays FA Women’s Super League (and Academy League), the Women’s FA Cup, the FA Women's Continental League Cup, The FA Women’s National League and The FA Women’s National League Cup (and Reserve League and Cup).

About the Women's FA Cup

The Football Association Women's Challenge Cup Competition, now known as the Women’s FA Cup, began in 1970 and is the largest and most prestigious domestic knockout competition within the women’s game. Clubs are eligible to enter the competition provided they compete in the top division of a women’s County League or higher and c260 clubs entered annually.

In 2015, The Final was played at Wembley Stadium for the first time reflecting the incredible growth in interest in the women’s game, attracting a record crowd of 30,710. In the 2016 Final Arsenal beat Chelsea 1-0 to further consolidate their position as the most successful club in the competition, lifting the trophy for a record 14th time in front of another record crowd of 32,912 and two million views at home on the BBC.

About the Barclays FA Women's Super League (Barclays FA WSL)

The Barclays FA WSL is the top league within English domestic football. There are 12 clubs in the league for 2019-20 with the bottom-placed club relegated to the FA Women's Championship at the end of the season.

Barclays FA WSL clubs:

Birmingham City
Brighton & Hove Albion
Bristol City
Manchester City
Manchester United
Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United

About the FA Women's Championship

There are 11 clubs in the 2019-20 version of the FA Women's Championship, with the champions being promoted to the Barclays FA WSL, subject to meeting licence criteria.

The bottom-placed club will be relegated to the FA Women's National League.

FA Women's Championship clubs:

Aston Villa
Blackburn Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Coventry United
Crystal Palace
Leicester City
London Bees
London City Lionesses
Sheffield United

About The FA Women's National League (FA WNL)

The FA Women's National League consists of six divisions, with five divisions comprising 12 clubs and one division (Division One South West) comprising 11 clubs.

In addition to the divisional competitions, the league also runs a Cup, Plate and Reserve Cup competition each season. The winners of the Southern and Northern Premier Divisions compete in The FA WNL Championship Play-Off to determine the overall FA WNL champions. The champions earn the right to promotion to the FA Women's Championship, subject to meeting licence criteria.

The teams and divisions for 2019-20 season are:

Northern Premier  Southern Premier
 Burnley  Cardiff City
 Derby County  Chichester City
 Fylde  Crawley Wasps
 Huddersfield Town  Gillingham
 Hull City  Hounslow
 Loughborough Foxes  Keynsham Town
 Middlesbrough  MK Dons
 Nottingham Forest  Oxford United
 Sheffield FC  Plymouth Argyle
 Stoke City  Portsmouth
 Sunderland AFC  Watford
 West Bromwich Albion  Yeovil Town

Division One North  Division One Midlands  Division One South East  Division One South West
 Barnsley  Bedworth United  Actonians  Brislington
 Bolton Wanderers  Birmingham & West Midlands  AFC Basildon  Buckland Athletic
 Bradford City  Burton Albion  AFC Wimbledon  Cheltenham Town
 Brighouse Town  Doncaster Rovers Belles  Billericay Town  Chesham United
 Chester le Street  Leafield Athletic  Cambridge City  Exeter City
 Chorley  Leicester United  Cambridge United  Larkhall Athletic
 Durham Cestria  Long Eaton United  Enfield Town  Maidenhead United
 Leeds United  Lincoln City (Nettleham)  Ipswich Town  Poole Town
 Liverpool Feds  Solihull Moors  Kent United  Southampton FC Women
 Newcastle United  Sporting Khalsa  Leyton Orient  Southampton WFC
 Norton & Stockton  The New Saints (TNS)  Norwich City  Swindon Town
 Stockport County  Wolverhampton Wanderers  Stevenage