Two new faces in the Three Lions squad as Ollie Watkins and Sam Johnstone called up

Thursday 18 Mar 2021
The England men's senior squad will be reunited on Monday when they meet for March's games

England boss Gareth Southgate has given debut call-ups to both Aston Villa striker Ollie Watkins and West Brom goalkeeper Sam Johnstone ahead of March’s internationals with San Marino, Albania and Poland.

For Watkins, it’s a first international call-up at any level after catching the eye during his maiden campaign in the Premier League while Johnstone returns to the international set-up having previously been capped from U16-U20 level.

There’s also a return to the Three Lions fold for John Stones, Luke Shaw and Jesse Lingard.

For Stones, it’s a first call-up since October 2019 while it’s been even longer for Shaw, who was last involved in a Nations League game with Spain back in September 2018.

Aston Villa's Ollie Watkins has been called up by England for the first time

Lingard’s displays while on loan at West Ham since January have earned him a place back in the group for the first time since the Nations League Finals in Portugal during the summer of 2019.

Southgate’s 26-strong squad will report for duty on Monday morning as they begin to prepare for their opening European Qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

That starts on Thursday 25 March when San Marino are the visitors to Wembley, before England head to Tirana to face Albania on Sunday 28 March.

And the international window is rounded off on Wednesday 31 March when Poland arrive at Wembley.

Sam Johnstone's eye-catching performances with West Brom have seen him called into the England men's senior squad for the first time

England squad to face San Marino, Albania and Poland

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Bromwich Albion), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jesse Lingard (West Ham United, loan from Manchester United), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton),   Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

By FA Staff