England will play Belgium, Iceland and Denmark in the UEFA Nations League 2020-21

Tuesday 03 Mar 2020
The draw for the 2020-21 edition of the UEFA Nations League was made in Amsterdam on Tuesday evening

England will face Belgium, Iceland and Denmark in the UEFA Nations League later this year, following Tuesday’s draw in Amsterdam.

Three Lions manager Gareth Southgate was at the draw, which took place at the Beurs van Berlage Conference Centre in the Dutch capital, and saw his side lined-up in group two of League A with former Portugal star Luis Figo making the draw.

And it sees England up against Belgium again, following their two meetings at the 2018 FIFA World Cup, when Roberto Martinez’s side enjoyed two victories over the Three Lions.

It also sees England take on Iceland, for the first time since their meeting in the knock-out stages of UEFA EURO 2016, when Roy Hodgson’s side slipped to defeat in Nice.

For Denmark, it’ll be a second trip to England in 2020, as they’re also visitors to Wembley Stadium later this month for a EURO 2020 preparation game.

Fixtures in the group stage will be held between September and November, when teams will play each other home and away.

The four group winners of League A will qualify for the UEFA Nations League Finals in June 2021 that feature semi-finals, a third-place match and the final.

The group winners in Leagues B, C and D gain promotion and those who finish bottom of the groups in Leagues A and B will be relegated.

England finished third in the inaugural Nations League last June, when they beat Switzerland in Portugal after previously losing to the Netherlands in extra time of their semi-final.

The Draw

League A
Group 1: Poland, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Italy, Netherlands
Group 2: Iceland, Denmark, Belgium, ENGLAND
Group 3: Croatia, Sweden, France, Portugal
Group 4: Germany, Ukraine, Spain, Switzerland

League B
Group 1: Romania, Northern Ireland, Norway, Austria
Group 2: Israel, Slovakia, Scotland, Czech Republic
Group 3: Hungary, Turkey, Serbia, Russia
Group 4: Bulgaria, Republic of Ireland, Finland, Wales

League C
Group 1: Azerbaijan, Luxembourg, Cyprus, Montenegro
Group 2: Armenia, Estonia, North Macedonia, Georgia
Group 3: Moldova, Slovenia, Kosovo, Greece
Group 4: Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Belarus, Albania

League D
Group 1: Malta, Andorra, Latvia, Faroe Islands
Group 2: San Marino, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar

UEFA will confirm the 162 League phase fixtures, with dates and kick-off times, as soon as possible after the draw.

The matchweeks are set out below:

Matchday 1: 3–5 September 2020
Matchday 2: 6–8 September 2020
Matchday 3: 8–10 October 2020
Matchday 4: 11–13 October 2020
Matchday 5: 12–14 November 2020
Matchday 6: 15–17 November 2020
Finals: 2, 3, 6 June 2021
Relegation play-offs: 24, 25, 28, 29 March 2022

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels