Referees and VARs confirmed for Emirates FA Cup fourth round

Wednesday 22 Jan 2020
Martin Atkinson will be man in the middle for Bournemouth v Arsenal on Monday night

The Emirates FA Cup is back this week with fourth-round fixtures taking place from Friday through until Monday. 

There are 16 ties scheduled for the next round and the match officials and video assistant referees (VARs) have all been confirmed. 

Martin Atkinson will be taking charge as Arsenal meet Bournemouth for the first time ever in the competition on Monday night while Kevin Friend, who refereed last year's final, will once again oversee Manchester City when they host Fulham. 

VARs and assistant video assistant referees (AVARs) will be in place for all six ties staged at top-flight stadiums across the fourth round, and will be in use for the last-16 stage of this season's Emirates FA Cup too. 

Kevin Friend oversaw Manchester City's 6-0 win over Watford in last year's final

Fourth round fixtures are scheduled to take place between Friday 24 January and Monday 27 January and here's who is in charge of them: 

1 Tranmere Rovers vs Manchester United
Referee: Lee Mason
Assistant Referees: Simon Bennett & Daniel Robathan
Fourth Official: Darren Bond

2 Hull City vs Chelsea
Referee: Craig Pawson
Assistant Referees: Nick Hopton & Shaun Hudson
Fourth Official: Andrew Madley

3 Southampton vs Tottenham Hotspur
Referee: Peter Bankes
Assistant Referees: Neil Davies & Derek Eaton
Fourth Official: John Brooks
VAR: Jonathan Moss
AVAR: Edward Smart

4 Queens Park Rangers vs Sheffield Wednesday
Referee: Keith Stroud
Assistant Referees: James Mainwaring & Anthony Da Costa
Fourth Official: Dean Whitestone

5 AFC Bournemouth vs Arsenal
Referee: Martin Atkinson
Assistant Referees: Lee Betts & Adam Nunn
Fourth Official: Simon Hooper
VAR: Michael Dean
AVAR: Marc Perry

6 Northampton Town vs Derby County 
Referee: Darren England
Assistant Referees: Mark Scholes & Carl Fitch-Jackson
Fourth Official: Darren Drysdale

7 Brentford vs Leicester City
Referee: Chris Kavanagh
Assistant Referees: Constantine Hatzidakis & Sian Massey-Ellis
Fourth Official: Andy Davies

8 Millwall vs Sheffield United

Referee: Anthony Taylor
Assistant Referees: Harry Lennard & Ian Cooper
Fourth Official: Brett Huxtable

9 Reading vs Cardiff City
Referee: Marc Edwards
Assistant Referees: Nigel Lugg & Craig Taylor
Fourth Official: Ollie Yates

10 West Ham United vs West Bromwich Albion
Referee: Stuart Attwell
Assistant Referees: Marc Perry & Timothy Wood
Fourth Official: James Linington
VAR: David Coote
AVAR: Daniel Robathan

11 Burnley vs Norwich City
Referee: Michael Oliver
Assistant Referees: Ian Hussin & Richard West
Fourth Official: Kevin Friend
VAR: Paul Tierney
AVAR: Scott Ledger

12 Coventry City vs Birmingham City
Referee: Tim Robinson
Assistant Referees: Adrian Waters & Matthew McGrath
Fourth Official: Ben Toner

13 Manchester City vs Fulham
Referee: Kevin Friend
Assistant Referees: Gary Beswick & Edward Smart
Fourth Official: Jonathan Moss
VAR: Jarred Gillett
AVAR: Constantine Hatzidakis

14 Newcastle United vs Oxford United
Referee: Robert Jones
Assistant Referees: Nick Greenhalgh & Paul Hodskinson
Fourth Official: Leigh Doughty
VAR: Lee Mason
AVAR: Mark Scholes

15 Portsmouth vs Barnsley
Referee: Graham Scott
Assistant Referees: Mark Pottage & Steven Plane
Fourth Official: John Busby

16 Shrewsbury Town vs Liverpool

Referee:  Simon Hooper (replacing Andre Marriner)
Assistant Referees: Dan Cook & Stuart Burt
Fourth Official: Oliver Langford

By Tom Dean