Youth Teams
Youth Teams

Drama in Denmark as Young Lions' late winner seals top spot in Euro Qualifying

Wednesday 27 Mar 2019
England's Joseph Gelhardt scored England's second goal after coming off the bench

Super-subs Nonso Madueke and Joseph Gelhardt helped fire England U17s into top spot of their qualifying group, and into May’s U17 EURO Finals in Ireland.

The Young Lions came into their final game with their hosts Denmark in Silkeborg knowing that a win would be enough to secure their progress.

And after a tight first half, England fell behind to a goal from Mads Zaar in the 62nd minute to make their mission even trickier.

Steve Cooper’s side were running out of time to turn it around but when Arsenal midfielder Madueke, on as a second-half substitute, drew England level with just over ten minutes remaining, it kick-started a dramatic finish to the game.

Wigan Athletic striker Gelhardt then thought he’d won it for England when he was set up by Morgan Rogers to put his side ahead.

But the Danes hit back in the first minute of stoppage time when Wahidullah Faghir was set up by Zaar to bring it back to 2-2.

With all eyes starting to turn towards the scoreline at the group’s other game between Croatia and Czech Republic, there was more drama to follow as the stoppage time progressed.

And the final cheer belonged to England, as Madueke struck again in the 92nd minute to secure a memorable win.

The Young Lions will now return home and have their eyes on preparations for the Euro Finals, which take place in Ireland between 3 and 19 May. The draw for the group stage of the Finals takes place on 4 April.

England: 13 James Trafford (Manchester City), 2 Valentino Livramento (Chelsea), 3 Haydon Roberts (Brighton & Hove Albion), 4 Miguel Azeez (Arsenal), 5 Taylor Harwood-Bellis (Manchester City) (c), 6 Nathan Wood-Gordon (Middlesbrough), 7 Alex Mighten (Nottingham Forest), 8 Jensen Weir (Wigan Athletic), 9 Sam Greenwood (Arsenal), 11 Morgan Rogers (West Bromwich Albion), 14 Ben Knight (Ipswich Town)

Substitutes: 10 Nonso Madueke (PSV Eindhoven) for Mighten 56, 17 Lewis Bate (Chelsea) for Weir 56, 16 Joseph Gelhardt (Wigan Athletic) for Knight 72, 12 Teden Mengi (Manchester United) for Rogers 90

Substitutes not used: 18 Matthew Bondswell (RB Leipzig), 19 Myles Harris (Chelsea)

Head coach: Steve Cooper

Goals: Nonso Madueke 79, 90+2 Joseph Gelhardt 87

Cautions: Miguel Azeez 29, Nondo Madueke 74, Lewis Bate 63

By Nicholas Veevers Content Manager - FA Owned Channels