Two FA Women's Awards categories open for nomination

Thursday 08 Sep 2016
The 18th annual FA Women's Awards will take place on 18 November

The 18th annual FA Women’s Awards will take place at Wembley Stadium on Friday 18 November – and we want YOUR nominations for two of our biggest awards of the night.

The women’s game will once again take centre stage at the home of football five days after the conclusion of what has already been a thrilling FA WSL season.

You can play your part in proceedings by putting forward a person, club or organisation that has had a major impact on the game:

#WeCanPlay Participation award

This award celebrates The FA’s #WeCanPlay campaign which helps girls realise that football is a sport for them and recognises the success of grassroots football development programmes.

Nominations are welcome for any organisation that has delivered a programme to increase participation. Please demonstrate how the nominee meets the criteria by completing the boxes on the nomination form.

As well as collecting their trophy at Wembley, the winning organisation will receive a visit from an England Women’s international as well as a coaching session from a member of the England Women’s coaching set-up.

Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Football

This award is not just open to current and former players, but to coaches, administrators, volunteers and anyone who has made a recognisable contribution to women’s football.

For example, the nomination could be for someone who has excelled in supporting the women’s game, donated years of service to a club or organisation, or could be for someone who has recently retired from the game.

Nominees considered will have to have demonstrated approximately 20 years of service to the game.

The nominations for both awards are open until Tuesday 20 September 2016.

A host of other awards will be presented on the night such as Club of the Year, Players' Player of the Year and the Vauxhall England Player of the Year.

By FA Staff