Sampson names squad for matches against France and Spain

Thursday 13 Oct 2016
Toni Duggan has scored 15 goals in 38 caps

Mark Sampson has named his 23-player England Women squad who will play two international matches this month as part of their Euro 2017 preparations.

Along with England’s game against France in Doncaster on Friday 21 October (8pm BST KO), the Lionesses will also travel to Guadalajara where they will face Spain on Tuesday 25 October (5pm BST KO).

Manchester City striker Toni Duggan returns to the squad after winning the league and cup double with her club, while Chelsea midfielder Millie Bright, who made her debut as a substitute in the 2-0 win in Belgium last month, keeps her place.

England v France

A Women's International
8pm, Friday 21 October 2016
Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster
Tickets priced £7.50 adults, £3.50 concessions

The matches mark the start of England’s work ahead of next summer’s Euros in Netherlands.

The Lionesses will find out their opponents when the draw is made in Rotterdam on Tuesday 8 November.

Sampson said: "Both France and Spain will be challenging matches for us but these are the type of opportunities this group looks forward to and are an important part of our preparations for next summer.

“We will be working hard over the camp to prepare ourselves as best we can to win both matches while also having one eye on the Euros.

“We are looking forward to travelling to Doncaster. It’s a club with a rich history in the women’s game and a stadium that our players and myself are familiar with."

Spain v England

A Women’s International
5pm BST, Tuesday 25 October 2016
Estadio Municipal Pedro Escartin, Guadalajara

Tickets for the France match are still on sale priced £7.50 for adults and £3.50 for children.

A family ticket (two adults and two children), priced £15, is also available and group booking and Charter Standard discounts apply.

England’s match against Spain will be played at the Estadio Municipal Pedro Escartin in Guadalajara.


Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), Laura Bassett (Notts County), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Karen Carney (Chelsea), Danielle Carter (Arsenal), Siobhan Chamberlain (Liverpool), Isobel Christiansen (Manchester City), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Gemma Davison (Chelsea), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Gilly Flaherty (Chelsea), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Jade Moore (Notts County), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Nikita Parris (Manchester City), Jo Potter (Notts County), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Rebecca Spencer (Chelsea), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Casey Stoney (Arsenal), Fara Williams (Arsenal).

By FA Staff