One week to go to nominate your FA Community Awards winners

Friday 20 Mar 2015
McDonald's head of English football Martin Keown has urged people to vote

There is just one week to go for you to nominate your grassroots hero for the 2015 FA Community Awards.

So if you know a football volunteer or club making great things happen in your local area then you can still submit your nominations for your grassroots heroes in this year’s FA Community Awards presented by McDonald’s.

The 2015 FA Community Awards will recognise the cream of the crop locally and nationally in seven different categories:

  • The FA Charter Standard Club of the Year 
  • The FA Charter Standard Development Club of the Year 
  • The FA Charter Standard Community Club of the Year 
  • The FA Charter Standard League of the Year 
  • The FA Young Volunteer of the Year (Under-25s) 
  • The FA Volunteer of the Year 
  • The People’s Award – Outstanding Contribution to Community Football

England World Cup winner and 1966 hat-trick hero Geoff Hurst will be representing McDonald’s on the Community Awards judging panel and the winners will receive their awards at the 2015 Community Shield in August.

In 2010, Surrey’s Curley Park Rangers won the National Charter Standard Community Club category for their outstanding support of football in the local area and McDonalds’ head of English football Martin Keown urged people to nominate a local volunteer or club like Curley Park Rangers for the 2015 awards.

Former England defender Martin Keown visits 2010 winners Curley Park Rangers

“Clubs like Curley Park Rangers are vital to the development of the grassroots game,” said Keown, who won 43 England caps.

“They provide an incredible service to their local community and ensure that young footballers enjoy the game in a fun and safe environment. 

“It is so important that we recognise the people who drive grassroots football forward and say thank you to those involved. 

“If you know a local grassroots hero, please nominate them for a 2015 Community Award.” 

Nominating someone is simple – simply click here and name your grassroots hero before Friday 27 March.

By FA Staff