Search for 2015 FA Community Award winners in full flow

Thursday 19 Feb 2015
The search for The FA Community Award winners is under way

The search to find the winners of The FA Community Awards, presented by McDonald’s for 2015 is now in full swing. 

Nominations are now open for you to reward your local FA Charter Standard Clubs and volunteers in the grassroots football community.

Volunteers are the backbone of grassroots football and the most dedicated of the estimated 400,000 volunteers in England are also recognised at The FA Community Awards. 

Nominating someone is simple – simply click here and name your grassroots hero now.

There are two categories - Volunteer of the Year and young Volunteer of the Year.

Sue Bonnington collected the Volunteer’s gong from Pat Jennings

Last year, Sue Bonnington of Heanor Juniors FC scooped the Volunteer’s gong having dedicated 17 years’ service to the Derbyshire club. 

During that time, she helped the team grow from three to 11 teams and she covers numerous roles at the club ranging from training to sponsorship and welfare.

Sue says the driving passion that spurs her on is the positive impact her work has on those involved in the club.

“It’s the kids that make this worthwhile. It’s lovely to see them coming up here enjoying themselves,” she explains.

One of the major tasks when starting a new club or for an existing club is to ensure you have enough people to run the club, Sue was instrumental in brining Heanor Juniors to life.

There are around 400,000 grassroots volunteers in England

Club chairman Kevin O’Kine said: “She has been with the club since day one and if I need to talk to someone to at the club to sort something out then I talk to Sue. It just wouldn’t happen if Sue was not here.”

Winners in each of the categories will be honoured at county level before being shortlisted for regional honours. 

The regional winners will then be put forward to a judging panel featuring legends of the game like Martin Keown and McDonald’s Director of Football, Sir Geoff Hurst. 

The selected national winners will go on to receive their awards at a ceremony held at Wembley Stadium. 

Click here for more information about the 2015 award.

Watch Sue Bonnington's story


By FA Staff