Kirby included in Women's squad for double-header

Wednesday 21 May 2014
Fran Kirby in action for the Under-23s against Japan

England Women's Head Coach Mark Sampson has named a 29-player squad for a World Cup qualifying double-header in June.

Reading’s Fran Kirby has been included in the senior squad for the first time and becomes the first player from FA WSL 2 to be called up by Sampson since the division launched in April.

Washington Spirit forward Jodie Taylor receives her second call up, following her inclusion in the initial squad for a La Manga training camp in January, while Manchester City goalkeeper Karen Bardsley returns to the squad following injury.

Belarus v England

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015
Group 6 qualifier
3pm BST, Saturday 14 June
Traktor Stadium, Minsk

England travel to Belarus and Ukraine next month as part of their 2015 World Cup qualifying campaign. The Three Lions are top of Group 6, having won all six matches so far without conceding a goal. Last time out they beat Ukraine 4-0 in Shrewsbury.

The first match, against Belarus, will take place on Saturday 14 June at Minsk’s Traktor Stadium. England then travel to Ukraine, where they will play at Arena Lviv on Thursday 19 June.

Sampson said: “Announcing a long squad for these matches allows us a bit more time to assess them.

Ukraine v England

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015
Group 6 qualifier
4pm BST, Thursday 19 June
Arena Lviv, Lviv

“Their domestic football calendars are very busy at the moment so this gives us a further four or five matches to look at fitness and form, which is very beneficial ahead of two key away matches.”

Sampson will announce his final 23-player squad in the week commencing Monday 2 June.

Squad in full

Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), Rachel Brown-Finnis (Everton), Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal), Carly Telford (Notts County).

Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Sophie Bradley (Notts County), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Alex Greenwood (Everton), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Casey Stoney (Arsenal), Demi Stokes (University of South Florida), Dunia Susi (Notts County).

Remi Allen (Birmingham City), Anita Asante (Malmo), Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Jade Moore (Birmingham City), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool).

Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Jess Clarke (Notts County), Gemma Davison (Liverpool), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Reading), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers), Kelly Smith (Arsenal), Jodie Taylor (Washington Spirit).

By FA Staff