Five England players named in PFA Team of the Year

Monday 28 Apr 2014
Steven Gerrard was one of five England players in the PFA Team of the Year

Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard was one of five England players named in the PFA Team of the Year at their awards dinner on Sunday night.

The Three Lions skipper, who has helped guide his club to the Premier League top spot with two games remaining, is joined by fellow Reds star Daniel Sturridge in the team voted for by members of the Professional Footballers' Association.

Southampton duo Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw have been acknowledged for a superb season at St. Mary's, while Chelsea defender Gary Cahill was also in the line-up after a terrific campaign at the heart of the Blues defence.

Adam Lallana in action for England against Germany.

Adam Lallana in action against Chile


Chelsea's Petr Cech and Eden Hazard, Everton's Seamus Coleman and Manchester City pair Vincent Kompany and Yaya Toure make up the eleven.

However, the night's star was Liverpool striker Luis Suarez who was crowned as the PFA's Player of the Year.

The Uruguayan's 30 goals, 12 assists and sensational performances for the Anfield side have helped them reach the Champions League and compete for the Premier League title.

Suarez said: "The Premier League is full of really great players and so it is a great honour when these players recognise your work on the pitch.

"I always try my best for the team and it is nice to get awards but really this is for my team-mates and the staff at Liverpool because without their help I wouldn't have this prize."

Meanwhile, Hazard scooped the Young Player of the Year prize after impressing his fellow professionals, scoring 14 League goals for Jose Mourinho's men.

"It's always good to win awards because it means you've had a good season," said the 23-year-old.

"But I prefer to win things collectively and I must say thank you to all my Chelsea team-mates, the staff and the fans."

Lucy Bronze

Lucy Bronze in action against Norway


England defender Lucy Bronze claimed the PFA Women's Player of the Year as she helped Liverpool Ladies to The FA Women's Super League title last year.

Bronze, 22, has ten caps for her country after making her senior debut last June.

And there was another Red celebrating as Martha Harris won the PFA Women's Young Player of the Year award.

The England U19s defender joined the Merseysiders ahead of the 2014 FA WSL season after spending the last campaign at Lincoln.

By Jamie Bradbury FA Editor