Men's Under 21s
Men's Under 21s

The England U21s squad to face Ukraine in Kiev has been named by boss Aidy Boothroyd

Thursday 02 Nov 2017
England U21s face a trip to Kiev to play Ukraine on Friday 10 November

England U21s boss Aidy Boothroyd welcomes three new faces into his squad this month as they continue their Euro qualifying campaign with a game against Ukraine.

The Young Lions head coach has handed first U21 call-ups to Chelsea defender Jake Clarke-Salter, Manchester United’s Axel Tuanzebe and Norwich City forward James Maddison, with regulars Joe Gomez, Ruben Loftus-Cheek and Tammy Abraham set to be named in Gareth Southgate’s senior squad for their games with Germany and Brazil at Wembley.

Ukraine v England
  • UEFA European U21 Championship
  • Qualifying Group 4
  • 3pm, Friday 10 November 2017
  • Obolon Stadium, Kiev

Clarke-Salter and Tuanzebe have both played under Boothroyd previously, during his time in charge of the U20s last term and Maddison has been with the Young Lions once before when he was called up for an U20 match with Canada in March 2016 but was uncapped.

The Young Lions group will re-unite at St. George’s Park next week after last month’s victories over Scotland and Andorra saw them take top spot in their qualifying group.

And they will head east to Kiev on Thursday ahead of Friday’s clash with second-placed Ukraine at the Obolon Arena.

With only one game during November, the squad will return to home soil after the match for more training together as Boothroyd looks to build a firm base for his group going into 2018.

The squad

Angus Gunn - Norwich City (loan from Manchester City)
Dean Henderson - Shrewsbury Town (loan from Manchester United)
Freddie Woodman - Newcastle United

Trent Alexander-Arnold - Liverpool
Jake Clarke Salter - Chelsea
Dael Fry - Middlesbrough
Jonjoe Kenny - Everton
Fikayo Tomori - Hull City (loan from Chelsea)
Axel Tuanzebe - Manchester United
Kyle Walker-Peters - Tottenham Hotspur
Joseph Worrall - Nottingham Forest

Lewis Cook - AFC Bournemouth
Kieran Dowell - Nottingham Forest (loan from Everton)
Sam Field - West Bromwich Albion**
Ainsley Maitland-Niles - Arsenal

Dominic Calvert-Lewin - Everton
Demarai Gray - Leicester City
Jack Harrison - New York City FC
Ademola Lookman - Everton
James Maddison - Norwich City
Dominic Solanke - Liverpool

 * Josh Onomah - Aston Villa (loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Dael Fry - Middlesbrough, Ben Chilwell - Leicester City all withdrawn injured
** Replaces Tom Davies (Everton) who withdraws injured

By Nicholas Veevers